The view from my perch on the mountain

Easy does it

I actually worked up enough energy to wander outdoors today! The nasty virus I’ve been fighting seems to be letting up at long last. However, I am in still in no shape to wrangle wild animals so the leashes stayed in the house and the livestock were clipped to their cable run. They still had a lot of fun hunting cats, marking territory, barking at imaginary trespassers, climbing on the picnic table to lick my ear just as I framed a shot…….

The weather was beautiful and I was really enjoying the sun and mild temperature. Imagine……….shirtsleeves on January 24th! Why do I get the feeling Mother Nature is about to bury us in snow and ice? Maybe THE BOSS ought to stop by the store and load up on bread and milk……just in case.

Anyway, I settled for shooting some Goldenrod while it’s dormant and no threat to my seasonal allergies. It wasn’t until I downloaded the images from the camera that I discovered it was set to shoot in monochrome. I kind of like what I captured even if I didn’t mean to.

IMG_6779

IMG_6780

IMG_6781

6 responses

  1. Chip this is just so beautiful. You are a great photographer. I look forward to all of your posts and pictures. Esp. your dog tales. It’s a wonder that you have not written a book about all your doings in SW Va.

    January 24, 2012 at 6:22 PM

    • I forgot to mention that goldenrod is blammed for allergies all the time. The real villian is ragweed. Chrysanthemum relatives like pyrrethrins that show up in anti-flea products like shampoos, treatments, spot on treatments for dogs, and fly spray for horses — are huge problems. I sure have run into that problem in a big way with my sensitivity to ragweed.

      January 24, 2012 at 6:54 PM

  2. I love them all, especially No. 2.

    January 25, 2012 at 3:21 AM

  3. Chip
    These i think are some of your best, they are so beautiful
    I hope that you feeling much better soon
    Take care my friend
    Sue

    January 25, 2012 at 8:09 AM

  4. Glad you’re feeling better Chip and getting over the dreaded lurgy that’s been troubling you, Loved the photos, though golden rod in UK is different. hugs to the furkids. keep well and get better.

    January 25, 2012 at 3:50 PM

  5. I hope you’re back to normal soon. Well, normal for you. Never change.

    I love the pics!

    January 28, 2012 at 9:28 AM

Leave a comment