The view from my perch on the mountain

Rainy Day House Finch

I was puttering around in the yard when a sudden rain shower swept through and I took shelter in our backyard shed. This little guy, a male House Finch (Carpodacus mexicanus), landed on a nearby branch and I managed to shoot a few frames (My camera bag is ALWAYS close at hand!) before he spotted me and decided to find a more private branch to wait out the storm.

IMG_0581

 

IMG_0594

 

 

IMG_0603

 

 

IMG_0608

 

IMG_0609

 

IMG_0614

 

 

 

IMG_0627

9 responses

  1. He looks like he’s been feasting at the slaughter house, 🙂 Brilliant shots Chip.

    May 15, 2012 at 3:58 PM

  2. Great pics Chip! It’s amazing how red the males are getting these days. Your fellow here is definitely the wettest bird I’ve run across. He got a good drenching. i like the one where he’s shaking and you caught the tail moving.

    May 15, 2012 at 4:13 PM

  3. awesome! wet bird alert! heh … very nice shots!
    k☼

    May 15, 2012 at 4:44 PM

  4. Especially beautiful!!!!!!

    Kisses.

    May 15, 2012 at 8:54 PM

  5. He looks drenched! Great pictures!

    May 15, 2012 at 11:10 PM

  6. I swear I think this is the same kind of little bird I have hanging around my yard too.
    Never seen one of these until this year.

    May 16, 2012 at 1:42 PM

  7. Oh dear! He looks very wet and bedraggled! His red part looks like its been painted on and is running in the rain 😉 I find him kinda cute and cuddly too!

    May 16, 2012 at 2:20 PM

  8. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Hey Chip, nice of the little fellow to let you snap these closeups. He did look fairly miserable out there.

    May 16, 2012 at 3:41 PM

  9. Pingback: 26th May 2012 – House Finch « My 2012 Photo Challenge

Leave a Reply

