The view from my perch on the mountain

A Different Kind of Burd

Even though I’m mesmerized by THE BOSS’s Old maid’s Bonnets I didn’t start out to shoot them this afternoon.  That said, I couldn’t resist getting a few frames.

IMG_5199

Frankie spotted a new visitor to our feeders yesterday, a male Red Breasted Grosbeak, and I was soon at the window trying to shoot a few frames  without spooking him. What I managed to get just weren’t good enough to post but I’ll keep trying.

When the grosbeak returned this afternoon, accompanied by a Red Bellied Woodpecker, I grabbed the cameras and slipped out the front door as quietly as I could. I didn’t make it into position without spooking them both but decided to sit quietly at the picnic table out back in the hopes they’d return.

The burds didn’t return while I was out there but I did manage to shoot several frames of another flying critter. I hope you like them as much as I enjoyed shooting them. These were all shot handheld with my Sigma 150-500MM optically stabilized lens from about 15 feet.

IMG_5136

IMG_5152

 

IMG_5155

 

IMG_5157

 

IMG_5167

 

IMG_5175

 

IMG_5178

5 responses

  1. Spectacular!!!!
    How wonderful!!!!

    Hugs, honey!

    April 30, 2012 at 7:39 PM

    • Yes indeed these are lovely pictures and will wait patiently for the others..that last one of the bee
      looks like he could buzz right off my screen. Looks like your warm weather might hit us finally tomorrow or
      the next day. It’s welcome..I think!! LOL Take care!!

      April 30, 2012 at 10:26 PM

  2. Oh……. I mean: oooooh! So beautiful! I love these columbine-flowers so much, and bumblebees as well, and you got them together so fine!
    In my garden, the columbines are still wrapped in theri buds, even in full sun.

    May 1, 2012 at 4:03 AM

  3. These are really good Chip, I’m glad I didn’t put my efforts on show. 🙂

    May 1, 2012 at 6:37 AM

  4. Awesome! Such rich colours and such big bumblebees!! Lovely 😉

    May 2, 2012 at 2:23 PM

Leave a Reply

