The view from my perch on the mountain

Archive for January 11, 2011

IF YOU’D LIKE TO MAKE A CALL…..

……please hang up and try again.

I really have no idea what the title has to do with today’s post. It’s just something one of the voices in my head told me to do……. the one that sounds like Donald Duck. I don’t think that guy has all his marbles in one sack.

Fullscreen capture 1112011 104851 AM

Frankie and I are both dealing with a dose of the latest virus making the rounds. She’s feeling well enough to go to work while I’m still at the stage where I’d have to die to feel better. Add in a case of cabin fever, thanks to Mother Nature’s latest “gift”, and what’s left of my mind isn’t exactly up to par today so I’m willing to let someone else do the thinking for a change. Today it’s Buddy’s turn.

That’s right, Buddy talks to me and I understand what he says. During his tenure as my constant companion for the past 5 years Sam taught me to speak fluent Lab. That’s how I know that Labs are absolutely crazy, especially pups like Buddy, and if you listen to their “suggestions” you can get into all sorts of trouble.

IMPORTANT NOTE/LESSON LEARNED: Whatever you do, NEVER, EVER let a Labrador Retriever tell you how to rewire a porch light!

 Buddy Sam

I’ve also learned that telling Frankie the dog told me to do it, whatever it was, doesn’t work. She says that if I’m silly enough to listen to someone whose tongue hangs out one side of their moth when they grin I deserve whatever trouble/injuries I get.

Back to the bug………since the folks at the VA clinic tell me I can’t have any meds to treat this monster because of the drug regimen they have me on I think I’ll make another pot of chicken noodle soup. Now if I can just figure out how to pump that stuff directly into my veins maybe it will stay down.

Okay, Buddy is trying to fill my lap with tennis balls so I had better go play a round of Buddy Ball (throw the ball, Buddy fetches it, you have to wrestle the ball out of his mouth, repeat) Did I mention Buddy has at least 4 or 5 tennis balls? Buddy Ball can wear you out pretty quick if he remembers where all of them are.