The view from my perch on the mountain

We interrupt our programming…….

…..to bring you the following public service announcement.

IMG_2600

I hereby declare winter to be officially over.

Capture

Yep, sunny and 75!

IMG_2604

If a broke down old geezer like me can get out and mow the lawn….

IMG_2607

Hold on a sec…….I need to wet my whistle…….

IMG_2608

Now where was I? Oh yes……if a beat up old fat boy like me can get out and do yard w….w….w…. mow the lawn you healthy folks ain’t got no excuse. Now turn off the computer, get outside and enjoy the nice weather. If the weather’s not nice where you are what better excuse for a road trip than to enjoy springtime in Virginia?

P.S. I haven’t been online much the past few days because I’ve been as messed up as a soup sammich. My back has been giving me fits!

P.P.S. I probably won’t be online at least the rest of the day because the engine vibration from riding the Dandelion Destroyer around the yard triggered my back and THE BOSS just gave me a dose of pain meds. The cartoons in my head should begin any minute now.

P.P.P.S. The preceding is all THE BOSS’s fault. She knows I can’t be left at home without adult supervision. At least she got some good pictures of the crotchety old bear  she’s been putting up with for the past 25 years! (That would be me.)

I wonder what’s taking the rescue squad so long. THE BOSS said she called them to come haul me off to the emergency room. Sure hope they get here soon. After dark the critters come out and the last thing I need is to get dragged off into the woods by a gang of raccoons………again!

13 responses

  1. the men’s toys are out – spring finally arrived 😀

    March 19, 2012 at 4:10 PM

    • Roket Man

      Yes, ma’am!

      March 19, 2012 at 4:55 PM

  2. it snowed a bit this mornng. i am still about the only person who loves winter, and hates to see her retreat to her summer palace … but at least lady summer wont beat me up here in washington!
    k☼

    March 19, 2012 at 4:44 PM

  3. Roket Man

    I actually prefer winter over summer because the heat and humidity of the dog days make it tough for me to breathe. Cold has never bothered me much and I always wear layer when it’s cold and white out. In the winter you can always put on more layers but in summer you can only take off so much before you end up in an orange jump suit, sharing a cell with a big dude who wants to call you Suzie!

    March 19, 2012 at 4:58 PM

  4. Hey Rocket! Early spring can throw some curve balls but from the look of things spring has definitely sprung. What kind of tree is that behind the fine looking specimen of masculinity on the dandelion whacker?

    March 19, 2012 at 5:48 PM

    • Roket Man

      J, I’m told it’s called a “sucker maple”. It’s definitely a maple by the shape of it’s leaves but the thing seems to be more of a giant weed than a tree. It grows so fast that the bark splits and peels and the wood is very soft.

      March 19, 2012 at 5:59 PM

  5. I used to like winter too, but now not so much. I don’t do well with temperature extremes. Something going on with my back. I have returned to using hot pack applications.

    Had a dandy T-Storm at 4 am, dog hated it.

    Something Chip you can try on the Dandelions is vinegar (also boiling water), repeated applications of household vinegar will kill off any weeds. Less toxic to you compared to argicultural vinegar. Less toxic than that chemical weed killer. Used boiling water on poison ivy.

    March 19, 2012 at 5:59 PM

    • Roket Man

      Thanks for the tip! Any poison ivy that rears it’s ugly head is in for a hot time:-) The dandelions we do get usually show up in early spring, hang around for a couple of weeks and then disappear.

      March 19, 2012 at 6:17 PM

  6. Well Chip, I hope by the time you read this you’ll have slept off the effects of Dandelion Destroying, It definitely looks spring like from your perch, it’s warming up here in the Uk, thankfully, I can’t abide the winter, My circulation is getting bad as I get older and my hands are sometimes so cold, they’re painful. oh well, as long as that’s the least of my worries. Talking of the heat and humidity, I hope it’s not going to be so bad when I come over to your neck of the woods in June. sigh,
    BTW , Frankie made a good job of these photos.

    March 20, 2012 at 4:23 PM

    • Roket Man

      June is usually beautiful weather, Arlene. The heat and humidity usually don’t get bad until July through late August but who can tell what will happen if this weird weather pattern continues.

      Today started out fine with beautiful weather and low pain levels. Then the madness struck THE BOSS and me simultaneously. We spent the day working on flower beds. Now we’re both hobbling around moaning and groaning. My back is so bad I can barely walk WITH a cane and we both have a nice dose of sunburn to add to the misery…….but it’s a good kind of pain, well earned and something nice to show for our efforts. Pictures to follow…..when I can shoot again.

      March 20, 2012 at 5:44 PM

  7. Those are very good pics of you…taking it easy! I have been taking your advice all last week on a week’s leave from work 🙂 Looooovely spring sunshine and….hailstones!!! Sadly the week is now up and I am back to facing the chaos that was sniggering happily whilst waiting for my return 😉 It was of course a beautiful sunny hot day today….lend us that water bottle will ya? lol I need to wet my whistle after typing this up! 🙂

    March 20, 2012 at 8:56 PM

    • Roket Man

      That water bottle (Clear American Mandarin Orange- naturally flavored, zero sodium, zero carbs, zero calories, zero sugar, zero caffeine) replaced my beloved …..brace yourself, Wolfie….sweet iced tea with lemon a couple of years back on doctor’s orders right before she made me give up cigarettes. Yes, we drink our tea sweet and iced! Most Brits find this to be a shocking phenomenon which is why we sent Cornwallis packing back in 1785……he just didn’t understand Rednecks. I also had to give up Pepsi several years ago on doctor’s orders which replaced beer….that was my choice. If they ever tell me i have to give up flavored water I’m going to give up doctors!

      March 20, 2012 at 9:16 PM

  8. Looks like you’re under surveillance over there Chip! Don’t work yourself too hard. Glad y’all are gradually getting some nice weather!

    March 21, 2012 at 9:56 PM

Leave a Reply

