The view from my perch on the mountain

Redbird

IMG_2419

It was another nice day, sunny and mild, so I was out enjoying the fresh air and looking for something to shoot.  There were plenty of birds chirping behind me but that was to the west, looking directly into the sun. Suddenly a flicker of motion in the trees caught my attention and I snapped this shot of a male cardinal using a 55-150MM zoom lens at about 55MM.

IMG_7917

Switching to the other camera, which was already mounted with my long lens, I got much closer without moving and spooking him. This shot is at about 350MM.

IMG_7921

This one is at 500MM, maximum zoom for this lens.

IMG_7927

About 400MM just before he darted off into the trees.

I’ve spent a little time scouting the woods behind the house and have picked out a couple of likely places for shooting from a ground blind. Both are relatively open, easy to get in and out of quietly and not too far from 2 intersecting game trails a den tree with a large, active squirrel nest and several nearby trees with bird nests in the upper branches.

As spring approaches I’ll be getting my hunting gear ready, including a large spray bottle of odorless insect repellant. I hunt with a camera instead of a gun these days but the principles are the same; equipment, scouting, set up and most of all, patience.  It’s too bad they don’t make Frontline Plus for humans……it works great at repelling fleas, ticks and other nasty critters on the dogs!

I spent this evening reorganizing my medium size camera backpack and making sure everything, especially my tripod, is ready to grab and go. Now all that’s left is to pick up a box of snake shot shells for my hand cannon and e-mail my wish list to THE BOSS and Mini-Boss. My birthday and Father’s Day are right around the corner and I have my eye on a pop up bow hunter’s blind and a new scent lock camouflage shirt and pair of pants!

4 responses

  1. Great shots of the Red Cardinal, and thanks for sharing the magnification so we get a feel for where you were.
    As to the insect repellent, as an ABG (African Bush Girl) I suggest that you either store your hunting clothes with those little mosquito pads tucked in amongst them, or you when you wash them, you put Frontline in the final rinse!!! I never used Frontline but I don’t know what you can get in the US of A, but I used something that worked wonders to keep the ticks off me, and mozzies out of the net at night, and it wasn’t so different.
    I hope you get your blind … my grandson is a bow hunter, so I’ve seen those.
    I saw the first birds collecting twigs for their nest this morning! Spring is near ……
    Wishing you hours of rewarded patience in the spring days to come ……

    February 29, 2012 at 1:55 AM

  2. Great pictures, Chip as always! An old bow hunter trick is to wear panty hose to thward the little blood suckers (also works for chiggers). Also if you aren’t allergic to pesticides, you can actually get hunting clothes with a pesticide embedded in them. I’ve seen clothes from LL Bean, and Sierra Trading Post that had a tick repellent already in the clothing. Not something I could have mind you. Last summer the ticks were so awful my friend Nancy had to quit taking her Wheaten terrier out in the yard, due to how bad they were. She just takes him out on the pavement. No amount of Frontline kept them off, either.

    February 29, 2012 at 3:43 AM

    • I found it, it’s called Buzz Off. Insect Shield Insect Repellent Apparel is a revolutionary new line of Permethrin-based Insect Repellent Clothing that prevents insect bites. Permethrins are related to raggweed, so that is a no no for me.

      http://www.insectrepellentwear.com/

      February 29, 2012 at 3:50 AM

  3. simply fantastic.

    February 29, 2012 at 4:32 AM

Leave a Reply

