The view from my perch on the mountain

THE BOSS!

You’ve probably heard me refer to THE BOSS, SHE WHO SHALL BE OBEYED, my better half, the woman who has put up with me for the past 25 years. You may have even seen a photo or two of her winding up to whack me on the headbone with her trusty cast iron skillet. Sometimes I even deserve it but if she happens to read that last sentence I’ll deny any knowledge on the grounds that all that BANGY!, BANGY! on my delicate head has caused severe brain damage.

BANGY BANGY

BANGY! BANGY!

Today’s post is my attempt to prod her into processing her own shots and getting into blogging.

IMG_6427

Last Christmas I gave her a point and shoot to carry around in her purse and she actually takes it out and uses it from time to time.

IMG_9807

She’s also been known to take one of my DSLRs away from me on occasion and has captured some fine shots with it. I’m afraid that one of these days she’ll refuse to give it back, just as she did when she got over the fear of driving Godzilla, my beloved Ford Expedition. Now I’m lucky if she let’s me drive it a couple of times a month!

IMG_3064-1

I have to be careful because that cast iron frying pan isn’t the only hardware she’s been known to have access to.  I’m convinced that any day now the authorities are going to kick down the door and tear the house apart looking for that 16 inch shell she found when we toured the USS Wisconsin last summer. That’s no pea shooter shell…..THE BOSS is 5 feet tall and that’s just the projectile she’s posing with.

But I digress.

These are a few of the shots I found on the memory card in her point and shoot and I thought you might enjoy them. Oh yes, the watermark. Frankie was born and raised about 15 miles from here in a little mountain town in the New River Valley, or NRV to locals, in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Southwest Virginia, hence the NRVGirl tag.

101_0437-001

From the minute Molly laid eyes on Frankie she decided she belonged to Mama.  She’s also my baby girl. Buddy, who adopted me from day one, has been replaced as my chair warmer.

101_0489-001

At nearly 100 lbs. she’s a little large for a lap dog but you can’t convince her of that.

101_0505-001

She sill allows Buddy to lay on the floor beside my chair and get his ears scratched.

101_0468-001

When she’s not keeping my chair  or my lap warm she likes to guard my side of the bed.

101_0487-001

THE BOSS has also been known to take some outdoor shots. She especially likes sunsets.

100_0320-1

THE BOSS says I’ve spent enough time fooling around online so it’s back to kitchen duty for me. Anyone know a good remedy for dishpan hands?

6 responses

  1. The pups are wonderful..and yes a little bit too big for a lap..heheh I love the pic “The Boss” took of you at the end.. GREAT SHOT.. now you have something to prove that you help around the homestead. I use palmolive soap it is good one the hands ya know.. heh 😀

    February 26, 2012 at 10:34 PM

  2. It seems like, Chip that dogs who have been rescued love to show their affection to their humans by cuddling, and being the ultimate velcro dog. You are so lucky that your Molly wants to cuddle. My Molly is past the cuddling stage. I wish she had kept that side of her as she got older. I used to have her sit in my lap, then she got mad at me because in her mind my lap suddenly was too little for her.

    Frankie is a natural at this picture taking. What kind of camera does she have? I suppose I need to get some kind of thing likes hers. Been putting it off, as I don’t particularly understand the new fangled things.

    For chapped hands, it might surprise you to know that Spectrum organic shortening makes a great moisturizer. I use this all the time on my chapped hands, just a tiny dab of it.

    February 27, 2012 at 6:10 AM

    • Roket Man

      This is what Frankie carries in her purse: http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=&sku=750211&Q=&is=REG&A=details

      She had a larger one but didn’t carry it much because it was too bulky to fit in her purse. This thing is very compact, easy to use and has a higher resolution than either of my high dollars DSLRs. Kodak recently file for chapter 11 bankruptcy which is reflected in the $30 drop in price since I bought Frankie’s camera but from everything I’ve read they intend to keep their digital camera and printer divisions while shedding the film side of the house.

      BTW: Thanks for the tip. my hands can really use some TLC.

      February 27, 2012 at 10:47 AM

  3. Love seeing the soft side of your BOSS! now go take more pictures!

    February 27, 2012 at 11:35 AM

  4. “The Boss” has got some excellent shots there! I’m sure they are enhanced by her bangy bangy skill!

    February 28, 2012 at 2:35 PM

  5. Tell Frankie i think she should blog her pics as the are so good,
    love the dogs, what wonderful friends you both have in them
    Take care
    \Sue

    March 3, 2012 at 7:45 AM

Leave a Reply

