The view from my perch on the mountain

Spring Arrives Tomorrow…….

……at least for a few days.

The weather guessers are calling for upper 50s and rain tomorrow followed by sunny and near 70 Thursday! After that, who knows! That’s a direct quote from the meter…..metrol……weather guessing idjit on the 6:00 news!

I’ll leave the snow shovel standing in the corner of the front porch for a while longer……or forever. Not that I know how to use it, or am capable of learning…..ever, it just seems to me that as long as it’s easy to get to we don’t need it.

IMG_2359

The d’hogs and I ventured outdoors for an hour or so today.  That’s not a typo……you should see them eat!

THE BOSS had Godzilla so we were on foot and didn’t wander far. Don’t let this shot of the back yard fool you. This part of the yard only gets a  few hours of sun each day, thanks to the ridge behind us, so this snow probably won’t melt until sometime in July. It’s still about 6 or 8 inches deep right along the tree line where the sun only shines for about 9 minutes every other day.

IMG_7422

THE BOSS calls this shot “Through the Rabbit Hole”. I sure hope she hasn’t seen any rabbits big enough to do that….or if she has, I hope she shares whatever she was smoking at the time.

IMG_2349

My burd watching chair is almost snow free. That’s a lot of melting since yesterday. I would clear the snow myself but this is part of a science experiment I’m conducting…….to see how long it will take it to disappear on it’s own. Besides, if you subscribe to the “keep the snow shovel handy and you’ll never need it” school of thought, clearing the chair myself will just make it snow again.

IMG_7278

THE BOSS’s lilies are ready for spring.

IMG_2368

My Irish Setter hunting boots are very warm and they’re also waterproof ……..especially if you lace ‘em up. Sharp eyed readers will note that I still haven’t bothered lacing them up.

IMG_2389

DADDY! DADDY! DADDY!…..WHAT ARE YOU DOIN’?

CAN I PLAY WITH ONE OF THE CAMERAS?

WHY ARE WE STANDIN’ ON THE PICNIC TABLE?

MOM WILL KILL YOU IF YOU FALL OFF AND SURVIVE!

GIVE BUDDY ONE OF THOSE GRANOLA BARS IN YOUR CAMERA BAG?

MOLLY SAYS DITTO.

DADDY! DADDY! DADDY!……WHAT MEANS DITTO?

(You may have guessed by now that Buddy’s a little goofy. He sounds like Goofy, too. DUH HUH, GAWRSH!)

IMG_7288

I was standing on the table to get this shot of a male Downy Woodpecker……and I didn’t fall off! However, it was at this point that all the voices in my head were drowned out by:

“ROKET MAN, THIS IS GOD! LOOK UP!”

IMG_7406

“I HAVE SENT THIS BURD AS A SIGN JUST FOR YOU!”

IMG_7407

“YES, THAT IS A VULTURE CIRCILING OVER YOUR HEAD!”

IMG_7411

“DON’T BELIEVE WHAT YOU’VE HEARD ABOUT THEM RIDING THERMALS.”

“THEY’RE WAITING FOR YOU TO FALL OFF THAT PICNIC TABLE……AGAIN…… YOU BIG DUMMY!”

BANGY BANGY

“EVEN IF THE FALL DOESN’T KILL YOU KNOW THE BOSS PROBABLY WILL WHEN SHE FINDS YOU LYING IN THE SHRUBBERY WHIMPERING LIKE A BIG BABY………AGAIN!”

IMG_2408

So I went back inside……..but I still haven’t laced up my boots.

Maybe next winter…….

4 responses

  1. Great post man!! Amusing as always. I love the narrative. Good thing you had sense to back out of a could be bad situation before something really bad happened. But the shot was worth it. What a beautiful bird. I love when I’m able to get the light to hit their eyes just right like you did. The vulture is another story….

    February 21, 2012 at 8:33 PM

  2. I never equate vultures much in the winter for some reason. Mighty large birds I know. Yeah tis weird to have snow and then warm right the next day or two. I like it though..Think you might get a BLIZZARD yet? Say Maybe JUNE?? hehheeh Just kidding.. Love the photos..poor doggie just wants attention.. Learning Sis’s cat doesn’t need much unless SHE WANTS it. Hmm I prefer DOGS!! Who cares if your shoes are tied…that is unless you trip over the laces..(let’s not go there!) LOL : )

    February 22, 2012 at 10:57 AM

  3. Thankfully all of our sneaux has melted in town. Monday, as it fell it looked great. Had 3 inches tops. All gone, except on the mountain near my house.

    February 23, 2012 at 2:46 AM

  4. Super post! The natural arch in the trees is great! Leave the shovel where it is, it’s like having insurance.

    February 23, 2012 at 9:01 AM

Leave a Reply

