The view from my perch on the mountain

Doh dee doh dee doh dee doh………

That’s the tune that plays inside my head while I’m out wandering the roads with dogs in the backseat and a camera or two in my lap……..at least until I remember to turn the radio on.

We had the first, and most likely the last, real snow storm of the winter yesterday. The official total accumulation for Wytheville is 7 to 9 inches. On the ridge where we live, just west of town, we’re at a higher elevation and usually get a little more than the community college in the east end of town where the official measurement is taken. I didn’t measure the depth but I do know for sure that being too lazy to completely  lace up and tie one’s 16 inch insulated hunting boots before venturing out our front door will soon produce cold, wet feet. You may quote me on that.

Anyhoo…….this is what my world looked like around 7:30 this morning:

IMG_2307

IMG_2309

IMG_7246

IMG_7244

IMG_2311

IMG_2317

IMG_2321

IMG_2326

Those spots on the pavement that appear wet are not. That’s what’s known as black ice during the night time hours. During daylight it’s just regular old ice.

IMG_2332

It was at this point that I realized the unusually loud voice in my head telling me I should pull over and shoot pictures because I couldn’t stop in the middle of the road was actually coming from the car behind me…….the one with the blue lights on the roof. At least the lights weren’t flashing and he didn’t follow me when I took the next left turn. Maybe he was tired after helping to deal with the 350+ accidents reported in the county overnight.

IMG_7254

When I we got home I turned the dogs loose and thought about clearing my burd watching chair off and shooting some burd photos.

IMG_7252

I didn’t think about it for long because my left foot was turning into an ice cube so I took another picture of my burd watching chair and went back inside where it’s warm. The livestock thought that was a good idea, too.

Man, these dry socks feel great!

I sure hope my boots dry out before I have to go pick THE BOSS up from work.

9 responses

  1. Sun and snow, my best … lovely shots, and I especially like the one with the low house (or is it high snow?) Our snow is melting now, and it is very grey and dirty everywhere … except the fields with the last remnants scattered around.

    Stay warm …

    February 20, 2012 at 9:58 AM

  2. These are wonderful to look at in my nice warm house. I do agree that the winter is cold but mother nature
    makes some nice viewing sometimes.HOPE there were no fatalities in that wreck. Some people just
    have no brains when dealing with the elements. Love the scenery it;s great! Keep it up!!! 😀

    February 20, 2012 at 10:03 AM

  3. Ufffff… cold, but… gorgeous!

    Warm hugs and love…

    February 20, 2012 at 10:29 AM

  4. It looks very beautiful and very much like icy Europa in your world RM 🙂 Not that we have black ice roads on the homeworld or burd watching chairs…we tend to make do with icebergs lol but either way very lovely. Hope your boots dried out…nothing worse than cold, wet boots on nice dry warm footsies…oh dear 😉 They didn’t dry in time? You had to put your nice dry, warm footsies in cold, wet booties…oops! Silly Wolfie bringing that one up 😉 Warming Wolfie hugs!

    February 20, 2012 at 6:46 PM

  5. SNOW! Sorry, I don’t see it very often what with living in Hell.

    Fantastic woodpecker shot!

    February 21, 2012 at 6:36 PM

  6. Beautiful shots Chip.

    February 21, 2012 at 7:55 PM

  7. How many inches of snow did you get, Chip? In parts of Rockbridge County the amounts varied. Thankfully all of it melted by 3 pm on Monday. It is still on the mountains close to my house.

    I always enjoy your beautiful snow pictures.

    February 23, 2012 at 2:31 AM

    • Roket Man

      The official total for Wytheville was 8.5-9 inches but we got about 10 out here on the ridge west of town. Heavy rain last night cleared it all away.

      February 23, 2012 at 9:18 AM

      • I know you’re glad it’s all gone! That is quite a lot of snow. But then with rain, then it is all soggy, messy. I hope you are feeling better. Praying that you will feel better.

        February 25, 2012 at 10:27 AM

Leave a Reply

