The view from my perch on the mountain

The Year in Review

Lately I’ve been on the sick, lame and lazy list as we called it when I was in the service. Okay, I’ve just been plain lazy and haven’t been out with the cameras much. However, while backing up all my files, cleaning up the hard drive on the laptop and transferring all the photos over to my dedicated portable hard drive I decided to go through some of my better shots from 2011 and share them with those of you who haven’t already seen them.

January

IMG_7040

Buddy LOVES snow!

IMG_7872

February

IMG_8917

The view from the top of Big Walker Mountain late on a winter afternoon.

IMG_8845

March

IMG_0094

Did I mention that Buddy LOVES snow?

IMG_0007

Even though we had snow on the ground Frankie’s daffodils were gorgeous.

April

IMG_0591

Milder spring temperatures meant Buddy could hang his head out the window and take full advantage of the wonderful smells passing by.

IMG_0610

The apple and dogwood blossoms were a welcome change from winter’s ice and snow.

IMG_0758

May

IMG_2840

May brought our baby girl’s 19th birthday. Where do the years go?

IMG_3852

Of course, EVERYBODY got a piece of birthday cake.

June

100_0290  IMG_6910

June brought a trip back home to Virginia Beach to visit Mom. This is the stretch of beach, known to locals as Chic’s Beach, where I grew up and spent a good portion of my life when I wasn’t deployed by the US Air Force. Even though I love living in the Blue Ridge Mountains I have to go back to the beach at least once or twice a year to recharge my soul.

Now you also know one of my secrets; I usually shoot with two cameras and I shoot a LOT! Thank God for digital cameras or I’d be sticking up gas stations to pay for enough film and processing to feed my shutterbug!

IMG_6685 Buddy taking his first dip in the Chesapeake Bay. Since we adopted him up here in the mountains we’re pretty sure he’d never seen this much water before but he’s a Labrador Retriever and followed me right in as soon as he figured out the foot high waves wouldn’t hurt him..

IMG_7451

What can I say?

July

IMG_7831

These folks will sell explosives to anybody…..even me!

IMG_7952

IMG_0255

We saw our first white tail fawn while out for a ride one warm July evening.

August

IMG_0478

A couple of weeks later this guy stepped out of the tree line right behind the house.

IMG_0559

He brought the family along with him.

IMG_1349

August also brought the annual re-enactment of the Civil War Battle of Saltville, Virginia. THE BOSS (my wife, Frankie) has been a Civil War buff since participating in re-enactments while she attended East Tennessee State University so we gathered up her sister and her husband, piled in Godzilla and headed down to Saltville for the action. Catching the muzzle flash of a musket firing was a real accomplishment considering she had just appropriated one of my DSLRs. You may have noticed the NRV Girl  (New River Valley Girl) copyright,

IMG_1491

“You’re not getting it back, either! Just be glad that long lens of yours is too heavy for me to handle!”

September

IMG_9797

September was when we rescued Molly from the shelter in a neighboring county, just a couple of hours before she was to be put down..

IMG_2044

Buddy quickly got over his jealousy for the most part and they are now the best of friends…….and partners in crime.

October

IMG_3776

Autumn here in Southwest Virginia can be spectacular if the weather conditions have been just right and this year they were perfect!

IMG_3791

 

November

IMG_4211

One good reason for not carving your Jack-O-Lanterns is they last longer and make great autumn decorations…….unless you happen to mention to the teenaged kid who lives in this house that they also make great targets for that new rifle he just bought. This idea is so popular that I sometimes half expect to have to chop my way through pumpkin vines to get to the target line at the county range.

IMG_4623

That big guy is back in our yard and he is BIG! Folks say that darker winter coat is an indication of the winter to come while the redder the spring coat is will tell you how hot the summer will be. I’ve seen the deer a lot darker than this in years past and hope we’ll have a mild winter.

December

Well, that;s it for this year. Time to give the cameras a good cleaning and get ready for what the new year brings. From me and mine to you and yours we hope you have a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year!

IMG_2077

Y’all play nice now………Bubba Claus is watchin’! Scary, ain’t it?

11 responses

  1. Good Idea, this posting, Chip! Happy New Year!

    December 31, 2011 at 6:16 PM

  2. Marvelous post, honey!
    Lovely shots… you’re a special one indeed!
    Thank you for sharing all your wonderful moments!
    Wish you joy, health and love, much love!!!
    Warm hug from Brasil.

    December 31, 2011 at 6:25 PM

  3. Happy New Year, Chip! I always love it when somebody rescues a dog.

    December 31, 2011 at 6:51 PM

  4. happy new year chip! what a lovely review 😉 you have a great talent with the lens. and a great pair of red santa shorts … (snigger)
    k*

    December 31, 2011 at 8:18 PM

  5. Happy New Year to you and yours. As ever be well my friend

    January 1, 2012 at 12:51 AM

  6. penelopephoebe

    Happy new year to you and your family, Chip. I really enjoyed your retrospect:>)

    January 1, 2012 at 3:58 AM

  7. An excellent resume of the year and some great shots. Look forward to more of the same in the coming year.

    Have a great new year.

    January 1, 2012 at 12:54 PM

  8. So glad to see your year in review – that tent selling fireworks moved into Walmart parking lot this week lol. Happy New Year and look forward to seeing what 2012 has to offer!

    January 1, 2012 at 1:40 PM

  9. Love ya photos! Great year in review!! 🙂

    January 1, 2012 at 2:45 PM

  10. WOW ! A year in the life of… It must have been tough choosing the piccys from so many. I enjoyed those ‘candid’ few. Congratulations on another year without arrest. I have missed our little outings on WLS. Apparently gone thanks to the anti spam policy, In the meantime may your powder stay dry and your lipstick not smear

    kind regards

    Simon
    Love to all who can get it

    January 2, 2012 at 10:17 AM

  11. Some truly fantastic shots Chip, specially liked the eagle in the sky, but hard to choose between them all, talent at it’s best..
    And these two lucky, lucky dogs, it brings a smile to my face when I hear of dogs being given a second chance forever home, good on ya
    Look forward to next years photos. and thanks for your visit.
    Arlene.

    January 2, 2012 at 5:26 PM

Leave a Reply

