The view from my perch on the mountain

Cardinals

No, my lenses aren’t dirty, that’s snow falling past the window.

IMG_5712

I’ve seen large numbers of birds flocking around the feeders when bad weather is moving in but never more than one or two cardinals at a time. Yesterday afternoon there were at least a dozen at one time.

IMG_5735

This male seems to have gotten his belly full and debating whether to stay or go home.

IMG_5745

This female is in bird heaven, sitting in a pile of feed under the metal roof on this feeder.

IMG_5801

The ground is still fairly warm so the scattered snow showers didn’t leave much on the ground but all of the birds took advantage of the recently filled feeders, just in case.

8 responses

  1. all your photos are wonderful, Chip! and I think, we have to thank Frankie for the feeders 🙂

    November 30, 2011 at 3:53 PM

  2. When I read ‘Cardinals’ I thought you meant butterflies Chip, but these little birds are just as wonderful. SNOW, oh poor you, I hope the sun is shining when I come to your neck of the woods next year, tell me , We [my daughter is accompanying me] are having a day stop over in Williamsburg, can you give me any info on what it’s like, what’s to see, are there any good shopping areas, etc, I’d be grateful.

    November 30, 2011 at 3:58 PM

  3. AM

    Wonderful. Love how the birds warn us.

    November 30, 2011 at 4:14 PM

  4. Loved, honey!
    How beautiful this serie of photos!
    Hugs and love.

    November 30, 2011 at 8:02 PM

  5. Great pics, Chip! I used to love feeding the birds, but I gave it up after many years because of the cost.

    November 30, 2011 at 9:52 PM

  6. @Gorges, we have just as many birds with natural browse, along with pampas grass for hiding spaces. Used to feed our birds too, it is expensive to do that.

    Chip, birds will flock and feed getting active just before a major weather system is ready to come though. That’s how (I used to tell my hunter ed. students) birds can “predict” the weather, and also announce game.

    December 2, 2011 at 7:24 AM

  7. lmao

    December 23, 2011 at 12:30 PM

Leave a Reply

