The view from my perch on the mountain

Roses, Autumn Leaves and A Surprise

Late blossoms on my wife’s Knockout Rose.

IMG_4511

We’ve already had our first hard frosts so there may not be many more of these this year.

IMG_4515

 

IMG_4495

The leaves are also falling fast but there is still plenty of color to be found if you look for it.

IMG_4469

Lastly, a Belted Kingfisher I accidentally captured while shooting the fall foliage along a local creek. I didn’t notice him until I got home and downloaded the images from the SDHC cards. Sometimes you just get lucky.

8 responses

  1. What a neat little fella! That’s definitely a great surprise. I would have chased for a photo like that for a mile.

    October 24, 2011 at 4:23 PM

  2. Aw he is so cute! Never heard of a BELTED Woodpecker before…he looks like he has a mohican!! The rose is beautiful…they never cease to swell the Wolfie heart 🙂

    October 24, 2011 at 6:47 PM

  3. My heirloom roses always make a comeback in October for a time. Great to see your wife’s Knockout roses. Not seen a Kingfisher, not even in the middle Shenandoah valley.

    Wondered if you would be taking pictures of the aurora borealis?

    October 25, 2011 at 5:07 AM

    • Roket Man

      When I heard on the late news that they were visible I grabbed a camera and took off out the door but couldn’t see them from here. Light pollution from town was washing them out if they were visible here. I had already taken my bedtime meds so getting in the truck and heading up to the overlook on Big Walker Mountain was out of the question. I will try tonight, before taking the drugs:-)

      October 25, 2011 at 9:35 AM

  4. I do wish we had birds as colourful as that, and wish even more I had a camera good enough to capture what we do have. Lovely shots Chip, the colours on that Maple are beautiful, We had one morning of frost last week but are now back to relatively mild weather, We usually have mildish weather till Christmas , then OUCH, the cold bites. Not looking forward to it. Have a good week and thanks for sharing the pics, appreciate them as always.

    October 25, 2011 at 9:38 AM

  5. Hi Chip, I really like your plan of having a separate blog just for your photo images. It’s something I’ve been thinking about for the past few months and even selected a name, but then forgot where I put the log-in information…hopefully will find it and get this started before year-end – wouldn’t want to rush anything 🙂 It will be on WordPress because like you did i want to try both blogging platforms. These roses are beautiful and that belted kingfisher was a wonderful surprise.

    October 25, 2011 at 7:42 PM

  6. I like that bird’s hair. He’s got it going on.

    Great photos!

    October 26, 2011 at 6:40 AM

  7. Best King Fisher image I have ever seen!

    November 3, 2011 at 9:14 PM

Leave a Reply

