The view from my perch on the mountain

Morning Light

Just a couple frames I shot while out with the dogs this morning.

IMG_4357

I’m still adjusting to the change in medications so I stayed on the porch while Buddy and Molly were “on patrol”.

IMG_4422

People often ask what equipment I use. Both of these shots are hand held at about 25 yards using a Sigma 150-500MM OS (optically stabilized) telephoto lens mounted on a Canon EOS Rebel T3 DSLR. I also use a Canon EOS Rebel XS, which was my first DSLR (Digital Single Lens Reflex).

In addition to the Sigma I have 2 Canon 18-55MM IS (image stabilized) lenses (this lens came with each camera), a Canon EF-S 55-250MM IS Telephoto Zoom Lens and a Canon EF-S 60MM f/2.8 Macro USM for close ups. Both cameras will accept all of these lenses, a very good thing now that my wife, Frankie (aka THE BOSS), has been bitten by the shutter bug as well.

NOTE TO THE READER:

I’m publishing this same post on my Virginia Through My Lens Blogger page. When I left Windows Live Spaces a few months back I couldn’t decide whether I preferred Blogger or Word Press so I tried both. After nearly a year I still can’t decide so I’ve decided to continue posting on both pages with this one focusing on photography and my Blogger page leaning more towards writing.

I hope you have a chance to visit each page and, as always, I welcome comments, tips, suggestions and criticism. That’s how I learn. I still can’t believe how much I’ve learned since I first started blogging and shooting photos in the spring of 2009. Y’all have taught me so much and I can’t begin to tell you how much I appreciate it. Thank you for your input, encouragement and most of  all for your friendship.

8 responses

  1. Chip, Very fine photos. The only camera I use now is the Canon Power Shot SD800 IS. The Canon T50 is gathering dust. I can not make up my mind between Blogger and Word Press either. Since WLS closed have not been blogging as much. Perhaps that will change as winter draws near and my writing is more active. It is a bright unseasonably warm fall day and am sure to be out in it this afternoon with the Canon. As ever be well

    October 23, 2011 at 1:17 PM

    • Thanks, Stephen. The best camera to have when the opportunity presents itself is the one in your hand.

      October 23, 2011 at 5:36 PM

  2. Hope you’re feeling a little bit healthier now…given your predicament an’ all! 😉 Lovely photos…they look spring like with those mellow yellow shades! Our unseasonal summer autumn has deteriorated into mostly painfully cold and seasonal conditions again! Blogger and WordPress both have their own unique points that make them hard to choose between…especially since Blogger intro it’s new layout and included stats…that has been remarkably enlightening for Wolfie! Difficult to find time to visit both sites…as you will realise by my lack of presence on your comments section over on Blogger! Oops 😉 I must make an effort to get over there soon…there are some great people there too and excellent blogs…if I could just find the time! I should probably post something too…but you know how it is! Keep up your own excellent blogging though and do look after yourself 🙂

    October 23, 2011 at 4:55 PM

    • I’m thinking about what I can do to get even with the MDs so I must be feeling better, Wolfie 🙂 Stay warm!

      October 23, 2011 at 5:38 PM

  3. your photos are showing it always: we don’t have to travel arround to take amazing pictures of our alldays surroundings; your good equipment for sure is helpfull with that, but without your way of looking at things, it was nothing but technical toys, and you make the best of both 🙂

    October 24, 2011 at 8:30 AM

    • AWWW, gee golly gosh, Heide, you’re making me blush! 🙂 :: Hangs head, grins sheepishly, kicks imaginary stone::

      October 24, 2011 at 9:58 AM

  4. Did some comparisons between the two blogs. Think I like the Woedpress better. Tried to post a comment on Blogger page as it said I didn’t have permission to view it…lol.

    Get well my friend.

    October 24, 2011 at 11:02 AM

  5. That little bird is so pretty, I’m thinking I’d like to paint a bird or two if I get the right photo, so I’ll keep on tuning in Chip, I’m very impressed by your equipment, [photo equipment that is]
    I too struggled with either WP or Blogger, and have both, though I’m afraid that it’s the same posts as I just don’t have enough to say [believe it or not] to keep two blogs going, and I wouldn’t have the time to keep up with the dozens of comments I’m sure to get Ha,ha,ha,ha,

    October 25, 2011 at 10:08 AM

Leave a Reply

