The view from my perch on the mountain

Outside My Window

I’m grounded, again, but that doesn’t keep me from pointing my lens out the window. THE BOSS really keeps them clean because she knows that as long as I’m busy with the cameras I won’t be fooling around with anything else.

IMG_4120

Buddy is always ready to pose for a photo. Molly, on he other hand, was investigating something under the picnic table and was out of camera range.

IMG_4164

It’s going to be interesting to see how long this volunteer sunflower holds out. We think one of the burds planted it in an old flower box because we sure didn’t. Overnight lows approaching freezing are in the forecast for next weekend so it’s days may be numbered.

IMG_4130

The maple in the yard is just beginning to change colors in earnest. It should be solid yellow by the end of the month and bare week or so after. As always, I intend to let the leaves blow across the street into the jerk’s yard. I’d rather watch him rake hem up that do it myself. Besides, I don’t know how to operate a rake……..and I can’t be taught, either!

IMG_4168

The wind was really whipping the branches today so I had to use a fast shutter speed  on these two frames.

IMG_4198

IMG_4204

The next door neighbor’s porch is also within camera range. After Halloween I’ll ask Cody, who lives there, if he wants to get in on the “Blow Your Pumpkin to Smithereens” festivities. Blowing up pumpkins with a shotgun at the county range is a lot of fun. My nephew turned me on to this sport when we were visiting a few years ago and it’s become an annual tradition in our family, especially since you can buy leftover pumpkins at Lowe’s and Walmart for $1 a piece the day after the holiday.

IMG_4211

Each year I usually set aside $20 just for pumpkins and another $20 or 30 to replace the shotgun shells. I’ve heard that modern shotgun shells remain stable far longer than they used to but I was taught to replace stored ammo with fresh at least once a year and still do. One of these days we’re going to find the dirt berm on the 25 yard line at the range covered in pumpkin vines! Then we won’t have to buy pumpkins to blow up or haul ‘em up to the range. That’s redneck recycling at it’s best!

4 responses

  1. Loved, honey!!!
    Have a nice week with love and joy!!!!
    Warm hug.

    October 16, 2011 at 9:21 PM

  2. Nice window!

    October 16, 2011 at 10:42 PM

  3. I had not heard of shooting pumpkins as much as I’ve heard of flinging them using a catapult or a French trébuchet siege weapon.

    October 19, 2011 at 8:51 AM

  4. Grow your own!!! I love it!

    October 19, 2011 at 2:07 PM

Leave a Reply

