The view from my perch on the mountain

Sometimes You Just Get Lucky

Our plans to take a ride out to Crockett’s Cove this afternoon got side tracked by a chest cold trying to put Frankie out of action. She stopped on the way home from work and picked a box of Alka-Seltzer Plus®. That, along with my mom’s sure fire cure for what ails you, Lipton® Chicken Noodle Soup , will have her right as rain and back behind the viewfinder in no time.

One of the big attractions in the cove, especially this time of year, is the beautiful scenery. The other big attraction is the herd of whitetail deer that flocks to the open fields at sunset. My brother in law, the world famous Fish Hook, and I have watched scores and scores of deer wander out of the tree lines. One of the drawbacks to shooting in the gloaming is not enough light for decent shots unless you’re using a tripod. Setting one up and waiting for the deer to appear is usually out of the question because of the single narrow road and signs prohibiting stopping in the road. I guess the folks who live out there have had enough trouble getting home in the evenings.

IMG_4073

The day was not a total loss. Just as she was getting settled down in bed with her book, TV remote, Mini-10 netbook and dual 4 legged self propelled foot warmers she happened to spot one of the “big dawgs” through the bedroom window.

IMG_4098

I apologize for the grainy images. The light was fading fast so I didn’t bother with the tripod. I’ve missed catching images of this guy several times because by the time I did get the tripod set up he was either gone or I couldn’t pick him out of the background as the light failed.

IMG_4105

The first frame was shot through the window using the window frame to brace my left arm and my left arm to brace the 150-500MM telephoto lens. The last two were shot using the clothesline pole for a brace after I managed to sneak out the back door without A) spooking the buck, B) falling on my face and C) having the dogs bolt past me and scare him off before I could frame a shot. All three were shot from about 75 yards.

Now, to get back to catching up on the backlog of blogs I have waiting for me. Man, I’m tellin’ ya; veg out for a couple of days and it takes forever to get back on track. At least the dreams from the pain meds were entertaining! Somewhere I read an article about dreams usually being in black and white. I don’t know where I read it but I do know for a fact that I dream in color, VIVID color, when deep in the grasp of a prescription narcotics buzz!

4 responses

  1. Loved, honey! So beautiful!!!

    Hugs.

    October 15, 2011 at 8:46 PM

  2. Stunning shots … and amazing that he is in your garden …. so beautiful

    October 16, 2011 at 4:27 AM

  3. Just remember that the deer ticks hang all over these things and the deer aren’t bothered by the ticks.

    They are beautiful pictures.

    I have these big dawgs in my yard so much that I can’t stand the critters for all the lawn destruction they cause, not to mention bringing more ticks in my yard.

    October 16, 2011 at 7:08 AM

    • Oh, I steer well clear of anywhere on anything that may be harboring or carrying ticks! The dogs both get monthly treatments with Frontline+ and I carry a can Deepwoods Off in an outside pocket of my camera bag as well a small bottle in a cargo pocket of my pants. If there’s even a remote possibility of getting bit I start dousing!

      October 16, 2011 at 9:58 AM

Leave a comment