The view from my perch on the mountain

Local Color

Reposted from my Blogger page. Still not 100% after my run in with the flu & pneumonia vaccines. Anyway, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

First, I’d like to thank Buddy for filling in for me yesterday, even if he did change the focus settings on my viewfinder. All in all I have to say he’s a very good boy.

I’m back on my feet, no loner feeling like I’d have to die to feel better and out with the cameras again. That said, I didn’t get far from the house before discovering I’m not quite back to what passes for normal in my world.  While Godzilla is a marvel of automotive engineering it lacks one important feature….indoor plumbing. Consequently, these were all shot within 5 miles of home.

Autumn is coming on fast and it won’t be long before we reach peak colors in the foliage. I often wonder if the number of traffic accidents increases this time of year as people pay more attention to the view than to the road.

 

IMG_3766

 

IMG_3791

 

IMG_3770

If you look very closely at the image above you can just make out the roof of a very nice home on the side of that mountain.

IMG_3773

Just in case you can’t find it, here’s a tighter shot with my long lens.

IMG_3776

Okay, okay, I’ll zoom in as tight as I can. See it now? I guess it is a little tough to pick put in that first shot seeing as how it is about 3 or 4 miles away from where I was shooting.

IMG_3799

Maybe that wasn’t fair of me. Tell you what I’ll do…How about a shot of the view from that house? This is shot from directly in front of the house, looking past the right side…….

IMG_1320

….and this is from the left. I couldn’t get a decent shot of the house itself because there just wasn’t enough room between the house and the steep slope of the mountain for me to get it all in one frame, even with my shortest lens.

IMG_3829

I shot this one along Ridge Rd. on my way home.

Okay, I have to get my tripod ready and set up both cameras for this evening. You see, the weather guesser done missed it again. The forecast called for solid overcast and rain from Tuesday evening through Friday morning. Well, here it is Wednesday afternoon, the sun is shining and the sky is only partly overcast. With any luck I just may capture decent images of the harvest moon!

We shall see…..

7 responses

  1. Beautiful scenery!

    October 12, 2011 at 9:31 PM

  2. Living in the city I do, when I look at pics of other peoples hometowns I get all petty and jealous and angry and I start voodooing them. Ummm, I mean, I’m happy for them.

    I hope you’re feeling better! Seriously.

    October 13, 2011 at 6:39 AM

  3. Absolutely beautiful photos. My favorite is the second photo. Your pics had me just staring at them for a while with such great Fall colors.

    October 13, 2011 at 8:14 AM

  4. Good to hear you’re feeling more like your usual self 🙂 The views are fantastic and the colours beautiful!

    October 13, 2011 at 1:02 PM

  5. Double Like for the funny ways you made us see that nice home among all these colours 🙂

    October 13, 2011 at 3:49 PM

  6. Breathtakingly beautiful as always.

    Aren’t you worried about fires with all those trees way close to your place?

    Glad to know that you are on the mend. Every since I had my Vitamin D levels optimized I haven’t caught any bugs. Just have to worry about the ticks. Pulled one that was embedded off my mom last month.

    October 14, 2011 at 2:30 AM

  7. Wow, that is stunning Chip, it hardly looks like trees, more like bunches of flowers till they come into focus, a sight to feast the eyes indeed, I’m glad you’re feeling a bit better, onward and upward as we Brits say.

    October 14, 2011 at 4:24 PM

Leave a Reply

