The view from my perch on the mountain

Shore Burds

A few random shots from our trip home to Virginia Beach last week.

IMG_2587

“The Rocks” at the western end of Chesapeake Beach (Chic’s Beach to locals), in the northwestern corner of Virginia Beach. I grew up on this stretch of sand and spent a good part of my teen age years sitting on those rocks staring out across the Chesapeake Bay trying to figure out life’s mysteries. No trip home is complete without a return to this site no matter what the weather or time of year. In the distance is the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel, spanning the 20 mile mouth of the bay. 

Now, a few burds I managed to shoot while once again sitting on those rocks:

IMG_0194

 

IMG_0076

 

IMG_0093

 

IMG_0163

US Navy SH-60 Seahawk anti-submarine warfare helicopter. The special paint job is in honor of 100 years of Navy aviation. The first flight from a US Navy ship, the USS Birmingham riding at anchor in Hampton Roads, was made by Eugene Ely just a few miles east of Chesapeake Beach on 14 November 1910. Hampton Roads was also the site of the first battle between ironclad warships, the USS Monitor and CSS Virginia, during the American Civil War.

The first landing on a Navy ship, USS Pennsylvania, was also made by Ely in San Francisco harbor on 18 January 1911 and the navy purchased it’s first airplane the following month, establishing the first Navy flight training facility at Coronado, California..

IMG_0251

 

IMG_0297

 

Some of my family and friends enjoying life at chic’s Beach over the years.

I hope you’ll take a few minutes to view the slide show. When I was Googling Chic’s Beach for links as I wrote this I was pretty stoked when it appeared 6th in the results. I made it a couple of years ago so some of you have already seen it. The little kids in the black and white shot are me and my oldest sister with our dad and one of his friends at Chic’s Beach in 1958. I literally grew up on that beach!

In another frame you’ll see a couple standing under a canopy on the beach. That’s my mom and dad, shot in the late 70s. The solitary girl looking out to sea in another frame is our youngest daughter, Laura. I took that shot 50 years after the shot of me, Dad and Crazy Horse (my sister) was made. There is another frame of two women, my mom and my wife, Frankie (aka THE BOSS) walking towards the setting sun taken this past June.

Hope you enjoyed the nickel tour.

2 responses

  1. Your sea-gulls are all amazing, Chip, and I enjoyed the video-trip through the times, the Beach Boys’ song included. 🙂

    September 30, 2011 at 11:40 AM

  2. Fantastic photos of the “Shore Burds” 😉 And the slideshow was cooooooool! And congratulations coming in 6th on googles search results with it! Well done! wolfie hugs 🙂

    September 30, 2011 at 4:06 PM

Leave a Reply

