The view from my perch on the mountain

Shooting the Moon

(Re-posted from today’s Blogger page. I know, I know…..I’m just lazy!)

I haven’t spent nearly enough time with the cameras or writing lately so when THE BOSS pointed out the harvest moon just rising at the end of the ridge I grabbed the camera with the big lens mounted and stepped out the front door. All of these were shot hand held with my Sigma 150 – 500MM optically stabilized lens.

IMG_2098

 

IMG_2104

 

IMG_2101

I really need to practice using the big lens because it’s heavy at 4 lbs. and next Monday we’re going home for a week to help Mom celebrate her 88th birthday. I know I’ll be shooting a lot on the beach as well as around the city, both in the urban and rural areas. To top the week off we’re going to the Air Show at Naval Air Station Oceana next weekend before piling in Godzilla and returning to God’s Country.  I’m gonna need to build up my forearms so I don’t pass out from exertion right in the middle of shooting a low level pass!

Suffice it to say, I may not have much to post now but by the end of the month I should have about a gazillion* frames to process. If my calculations are correct I should go blind just before Halloween.

ThreeBrazilianSoldiers(Confidential).

*That’s gazillion, not to be confused with Brazilian, which frequently confused our last Dufus in Chief who should not be confused with Rick Perry, his successor as governor of Texas, who wants to be the next Dufus in Chief only without the pesky IQ thingamajig.

obama_perry_at_22

Say what you may about the current occupant of the Oval Office; even with a do nothing congress he has managed to accomplish one  thing:

7208

……and he has proof!

7233

(Actual bin Laden funeral footwear footage)

By the way, while we’re on the topic of Al Qaeda …..and don’t ask me how we got there:

7720

Okay, “Peggy”, the attendant says it’s time to get me in my fancy jammies with the buckles in the back and for one of those itty-bitty cups of the funny orange “Kool-Aid”.

 armed and dangerous 2

Peggy is not to be trifled with

I’ll see y’all tomorrow unless I manage to chew through the straps again. Y’all might want to lock your doors…..and buy a helmet.

3 responses

  1. Great post! Cheered up my morning immensely 🙂 lovely harvest moon pics…moon was almost translucent this morning…bad for shooting but awesome viewing against a bright blue sky! And don’t you worry about going blind lol you have two beautiful guide dogs just raring to take you out on the wild side…possibly a little bit faster than you might like…breakneck lab’ run may not be the best speed for you lol but no worries…the BOSS will patch you up!!

    September 15, 2011 at 5:05 AM

  2. Super pics, is the moon really that big???
    Loved the jokes, but be careful what you say about our Subo. 🙂

    September 16, 2011 at 5:09 PM

    • Roket Man

      Yes, it was and I ain’t afraid of Subo as long as there’s an ocean between us:-)

      September 16, 2011 at 6:23 PM

Leave a Reply

