The view from my perch on the mountain

The Big Dawgs

THE BOSS started hollerin’ at me to get the camera and come a runnin’. Not being in the mood for getting that cast iron skillet of hers upside my headbone (which I have dubbed BANGY! BANGY! ) I grabbed the closest camera at did my impression of a crippled old fart running. I think I may have sprained something in my haste but it was worth any damage done because I’ve been waiting for this.

THE BIG DAWGS ARE BACK!

IMG_0478

While I mounted a lens, got everything turned on, found a perch to shoot this buck in our back yard and even remembered to remove the dust cap Frankie ever so slowly and gently opened the window to give me a clear shot.

IMG_0544

Just as the shutter tripped for the 5th or 6th time I caught movement at the corner of the frame and there were these little guys just coming out of the trees. These are the first fawns we’ve seen this season and we’ve been wondering where they all were.

IMG_0551

Then I panned left a little and there was Mama Deer!

IMG_0555

Try as I might I just couldn’t manage any decent shots of the fawns romping around the yard. The light was poor and I was shooting off hand so they all came out badly blurred but now that I know they’re around I’ll keep one of the cameras set up on the tripod with my long lens so I’ll be ready when they show up again.

IMG_0558

It’s downright comical to watch the little ones romp. Once I get this posted I’m getting out the manual for my T3 and read up on shooting HD video with it.

IMG_4525

“What do you mean them ain’t dogs? They look just like me, don’t they?”

5 responses

  1. Beautiful animals. I know all too well the scramble to get the picture!

    August 12, 2011 at 9:47 PM

  2. Fizz

    What great photo’s! You did good to get the images. It would have been nice to have a pic of them romping around, but any photo at all is marvelous!

    It’s amazing how Buddy is filling out. I remember when you first got him, he was all skin and bones.

    Have a great weekend!

    August 12, 2011 at 9:54 PM

  3. ah how sweet! theyre all ears! and legs! roy would have a ball chasing them around … heh and cinnamon would likely try to guard them from him.

    what a treat to have deer in the yard. when i lived in astoria i used to have them in my yard too. it was so cool to see them wander in and around the few houses at the end of my little street.
    k☼

    August 13, 2011 at 10:19 AM

  4. Tried to post a comment on Blogger but it wouldn’t let me 😦 No Buddy! They don’t look anything like you!! lol You don’t have big stuck up ears and a little delicate pointed face do you? 😉 The deer are beautiful and the fawns are adorable 🙂 Little Bambis!

    August 14, 2011 at 6:17 PM

  5. *%$£+)>> I still can’t see any of your images Chip, i’m none too happy about it. 😦

    August 23, 2011 at 3:51 PM

Leave a Reply

