The view from my perch on the mountain

Citizens of the World

This evening I was struck once again by just how much the Internet has impacted my day to day life. I posted a question on Face Book asking if anyone had heard from a friend living in London. With the spotty coverage of the rioting there being pushed to the side by the financial fiasco in the US and the loss of so many brave troopers in one incident in Afghanistan it’s hard to form a picture of the situation in London, even for a news junkie like me.

Within minutes another friend who lives in London posted a reply saying that most of the city is not in flames. This was a relief because the only footage I had seen up til then showed what appeared to be entire city blocks in flames and the talking heads saying that rioting that began in the north of the city had spread to the south. Next another friend posted links to local news sources in the UK which gave a much clearer picture of what is going on. Several others in the UK soon followed suit.

While I still don’t know if my friend is in an area affected by the rioting I am a little less apprehensive. She has a level head on her shoulders and I’m sure that she will take care and seek a safe place to shelter.

What I find fascinating is the ability of a network of friends who have never met face to face and only know each other through social networking sites to provide better information than network news services with billion dollar budgets and the very latest in technology. This isn’t the first time this has happened and frequently friends from all over the globe are involved.

Say what you will about Face Book, and I have my share of problems with their privacy practices myself, but once again my network of FB friends have come through when the major news services dropped the ball.

10 responses

  1. ya i know what you mean. i dont get as much face time as most on the book, but i check in from time to time. there, and here, i find the global nature of our community a priceless thing to me.
    k☼

    August 8, 2011 at 9:28 PM

    • Roket Man

      So do I, Kirsten. Sue Mac says friends are the family God lets us choose. Over the course of the past 2 1/2 years I’ve accumulated quite a large family spread quite literally around the globe.

      Hope preparations for your move go smoothly and can’t wait to hear about your new home. That’s another aspect that I like about our community; even when someone changes locations, no matter how far they travel, as long as there;s a web connection available we’re still in touch.

      August 8, 2011 at 10:08 PM

  2. Mmm! makes me think that you should be running the news network here …!! At least then we’d get a realistic impression and not sensationalised …. well that is except when it comes to frying pans!!

    August 9, 2011 at 1:43 AM

  3. Today I am so glad to have my F/bk friends and to be reminded when I rather forlournly crept online at work this morning, after a horrible weekend being blown out by my best real-world friend of 10yrs+ because I couldn’t get his lottery ticket in time for the deadline (???!!!) that I am NOT alone after all, and do I feel alone!! I found lots of people who care about me without ever having even met me and it lifted my spirits…in fact it was awesome! Tonight is hard because I’d normally be yabbering on the mobile to him or meeting up in town and he won’t even speak to me anymore, but I have my f/bk friends…,and it makes all the world of difference…because I’m not alone…I’ve got you guys! 🙂

    August 9, 2011 at 5:47 PM

    • Roket Man

      That’s right, Wolfie, you’re never alone. You’ve got us, the family God let you choose! I’m glad that you’re safe with all the madness swirling around you.

      And I went down to the demonstration
      To get my fair share of abuse
      Singing, “We’re gonna vent our frustration
      If we don’t we’re gonna blow a 50-amp fuse”
      Sing it to me now…

      You can’t always get what you want
      You can’t always get what you want
      You can’t always get what you want
      But if you try sometimes well you just might find
      You get what you need

      Your friend should listen to what Mick had to say because he will surely regret his foolishness.

      August 9, 2011 at 8:19 PM

      • Thanks for that 🙂 I like those words…lots! Over a week on still haven’t heard a bean from him and don’t fancy any further abuse so left him to stew…there is a certain enjoyment in being able to please myself for a change! And he will have to deal with the consequences of his own actions if this friendship really does have to crash and burn…but hopefully it won’t come to that…super optimistic Wolfie see??!!! 🙂

        August 16, 2011 at 1:14 PM

  4. True words, Chip…I know we have called FB The Darkside, but it is truly wonderful to be able to get to know so many interesting people via a screen and keyboard (and all the rest of the gubbins that make ’em work!)…we can travel the world from the comfort of our own homes, get to know people, then meet them when we travel for real. Priceless!!

    August 10, 2011 at 8:04 AM

  5. arlene

    I know my life would be emotionally poorer if it wasn’t for my friends on my blogging boards, [I don’t do FB a lot], so I do know what you mean Chip, and Wolfie I am sorry that your friend has ‘taken the hump’ over a lottery ticket, small comfort in me saying he/she couldn’t have a deep understanding of friendship and you’re better off without him/her.

    August 10, 2011 at 3:36 PM

    • Thanks Arlene…you’re quite right of course…he has always said nothing would come between us but he is a gambling man at heart, reformed though he may now be, and it would seem that ultimately the lure of the potential lottery win overrides all else. He is becoming about the lottery how he used to be about other forms of gambling when it all, as it inevitably does, goes horribly wrong. Greed and money…the root of all evil!!

      August 16, 2011 at 1:20 PM

      • Just catching up a bit, and pure chance picked this up, Wolfie, my friend you’ve maybe had a narrow escape with your gambling ‘friend’ that is the bete noire that ruined my marriage that I blogged about, it causes more problems and heartache than drunkenness or unfaithfulness. you’re better off without him.

        August 23, 2011 at 3:58 PM

Leave a Reply

