The view from my perch on the mountain

Still Above the Dirt

No, I haven’t fallen off the face of the Earth or broken all my cameras; I’m just in a slump. Usually I’ll wander around with my eye glues to the viewfinder, shoot a couple hundred frames, download them to my laptop and inspiration for a blog or three will come to me while I process what I’ve shot. Other times something I’ve read, heard  or seen during my morning news fix will set me off on a rant  and I’ll take it out on you poor folks.

Then there’s my unique (some say twisted) slant on the world around me. Blogs written on that basis usually cause a lot of you to post comments such as “You do know you ain’t right?”, “Do the guards know you’re out of your padded cell?”, “Do you lay awake nights thinking this stuff up?”, “What color is the sky in your world?” of the ever popular “God bless poor Frankie for putting up with you!”

As most of you know I have a few health issues and have to work around them at certain times of the year. During cold weather snow and ice require me to be extra cautious because of mobility issues related to my back and leg injuries . Hot humid weather, such as we’ve had the past couple of weeks, often aggravates my chronic bronchitis.

I’m the first to admit that I’m very hard headed but there are times when my refusal to let my physical problems from keeping me from doing what I want just isn’t enough and I end up where I am now, deep in the throes of cabin fever. To give you an idea of just how bad it is now, I have several pieces of new gear in my bag and I’m just dying to get out and play with it! Any time I don’t rush out to play with new toys something is definitely wrong!

Anyhoo……..the weather guessers are saying we should be in for something of a break as the daytime highs next week should be about 10 degrees cooler. Until then I have a few books I’ve been meaning to read and I’ll be able to catch up on your blogs…….and maybe, just maybe, I’ll find something interesting on the magic box across the room…….maybe even a Three Stooges Marathon!

Keep an eye on this space…….you never can tell when the voices in my head tell me to write something worth publishing.  Smile

Buddy says he has a few good ideas but I’m not about to admit, in writing at least, that I converse with my dawg. People might think I was losing what little is left of my mind!

3 responses

  1. I appreciate your blog. I talk to my dog. I also talk to my dressage equine. I have mobility problems. I think you may actually move better than I do.

    I read something recently about Vitamin D for chronic bronchitis. I might have shared that link with you.

    Extreme weather affects my muscles.

    It would be rather trite for me to say “hang in there.” It’s like the comment, “but you don’t look sick,” (hate that one). But I really do know what you mean about all these limitations that include weather and physical problems as I have similar issues.

    August 6, 2011 at 10:52 PM

    • I actually take a multivitamin with a healthy dose of vitamin D daily. In a way, my accident was something of a blessing. There are a few things I just can’t do anymore and there are many more that I have to figure out a different way of tackling but that, and my passion for photography, keep me thinking instead of just idling along. The main thing is that I still LIVE each day as fully as possible. Too many people just survive from day to day instead of living life to it’s fullest.

      August 6, 2011 at 11:22 PM

  2. Hang in there Roket Man! The weather will change soon (hopefully) and we can all enjoy the outdoors more pleasantly. And talking to you dog is nothing. They’ve got more going on in their brains than we give them credit. Can’t wait to see what creeps into your thoughts for the blog next.

    August 7, 2011 at 10:50 AM

Leave a Reply

