The view from my perch on the mountain

It’s so hot……

…… that I’m actually reading the user’s manual for the new camera that arrived on the Big Brown Truck today!

Note to the reader: This was originally posted on my Virginia Through My Lens Page on 20 July. Reposted and updated here for my Word Press audience.

That’s right, I Roket Man, king of computer crashes, undisputed master of falling down in a most spectacular fashion, poster child for crutches and bandages, am READING A MANUAL! And I don’t mean I’m just looking at the pictures, either.

You may want to mark your calendars because the odds of my doing this again in my lifetime are very slim.

The new camera, a Canon T3, is no leap forward in technology over the Canon XS/1000D DSLR I’ve been using. In fact it’s a little simpler but what it does do is shoot HD video. Since our old early 90s vintage Panasonic VHS behemoth camcorder bit the big one a few years ago I’ve been thinking about switching to digital video. Those thoughts always fell to the wayside when some new toy for my DSLR caught my eye……like a lens, tripod, camera bag, etc. I have at least 5 or 6 bags because my collection of goodies keeps growing and the bags don’t. At least the T3 accepts all of the lenses I already own which is a good thing because I have so much gear now that I find myself shopping for a pack frame and saddle bags for Buddy so he can help tote my gear.

Come to think of it, I don’t even know if we have a functioning VHS deck but we do have 2 DVD players and there’s a DVD-RW in this laptop which I know for a fact works.You see, most computers with Windows 7 pre-installed DO NOT come with recovery disks and one of the first things I did when I took delivery of this machine was to create one because there hasn’t been a computer built that I can’t crash!

If the weather forecast for the rest of the week holds true I’ll know this camera inside and out before I soot the first frame…….or you may see some extremely boring video of the moon because chances are the heat and humidity may drop enough after sunset that I’ll be able to breathe outdoors. COPD is a b***h!

Well, this isn’t getting that manual read so I had better get back to it. Once I finish the book I think I’ll also go through the tutorials on the DVD included with the camera. I may even run some of the free tutorials on the Canon web site.

No, I’m not being conscientious. I can’t use the new camera yet because the battery pack is taking FOREVER to charge!

Naturally this camera doesn’t use the same battery that my XS uses. That figures because I have 2 fully charged spare battery packs for it.

NOTE TO SELF: Order spare battery packs for the T3!

UPDATE!

The man in the Big Brown Truck came to see me again today! I already call him Santa Claus and greet him with a hearty HO! HO! HO! when he pulls up in front of the house but if he keeps this up I just might forgive him for not bringing that pony I wanted when I was 6.

Today he brought my new remote shutter switch and a high capacity 32Gb, high speed read/write SDHC card!

Now if the weather would only return to the normal hot, hazy and humid but the weather guessers are saying we’ll be in hotter than blue blazes mode for weeks to come. If they’re right don’t be surprised to find nothing but videos of Buddy chasing his tennis ball collection for the rest of the summer.

What a terrible thought!

IMG_0365

Let’s all pray for a freak blizzard or two or three. Right about now two feet of snow sounds like heaven!

IMG_0100

Buddy agrees!

4 responses

  1. I love snow-pics in summer – it is like ice-cream to the eyes.

    July 21, 2011 at 2:52 PM

    • Roket Man

      Great minds think alike! 🙂

      July 21, 2011 at 3:23 PM

  2. im with you on the snow! icecream to the eyes … i like that!
    k☼

    July 21, 2011 at 7:47 PM

  3. Congratulations on reading a manual…lol…though you didn’t say whether you actually understood what the little squiggles actually meant! 😉 Recovery disks didn’t come with Vista installations either…horrors of horrors the 1st time I discovered having to make my own! 🙂

    July 22, 2011 at 12:33 PM

Leave a Reply

