The view from my perch on the mountain

Well, well, well…….

Note to the reader: Please ignore the copyright notice over there in the right side bar. None of these images are my own. I freely admit to finding them via a web search and, seeing no copyright notice on the pages where I found them, I copied them for use in this post. If I’m violating anyone’s property rights feel free to bring it to my attention and the images will be removed.

well_well_well

I first got into blogging a couple of years ago when I discovered Windows Live Spaces while searching the web for information on amateur photography. I needed a hobby to keep me from going out of what was left of my mind after I was suddenly forced into early retirement by an accident at home.

I found a treasure trove of information and met some wonderful people, some of whom were arguably just as screwy as me! As is the case with so many great things on the World Wide Web someone decided they could improve on WLS and if you’re reading this you know how that worked out:

homer-simpson-doh

The “upgrade” known as Wave 4 left most of us scrambling for a new site to host our blogs and allow us to stay in touch with each other. It seems that someone on the WLS team concluded that blogging is a dying phenomenon and WLS should more closely resemble social networking site like Face Book and Twitter.

For most of us this was not a pleasant experience because we were suddenly faced with learning all the bells and whistles involved with using Word Press and/or Blogger because the WLS brain trusts were what I like to call WRONG!

I also found it necessary to sign up with Face Book for regular updates from my online family and friends. Considering the security issues I kept reading about on the news sites I was more than a little uncomfortable about that:

15d1b6fd8cb62ff03396936b

Today I received an invitation to try out the beta version of Google+ and after less than two hours of my normal “click that and see what happens” method of learning things without bothering with the tutorials I have to say I LIKE IT!!

homer

Google+ is easy to set up and if you are a WLS expat it is very familiar. If you get an invitation to join, which is the only way to try the beta out, I urge you to do so.  At present you need a Google account but that’s easy enough to do by following this LINK.

I have a feeling that once Google+ goes public Face Book will be looking a lot like My Space…….and Windows Live Spaces.

10 responses

  1. like it, of course 🙂

    July 19, 2011 at 3:38 PM

  2. I am still undecided if I shall stay on google+ or not. It seems very scrappy and because you can separate everyone into different groups and each be unaware of what the other is doing I reckon it may get a bit confusing for me as I may loose track of who said what, where and when. I have sort of settled on fb for now for the quick chat, with only the occasional blog (which I do miss from WLS). I do only keep my friend lists small and comfortable and not really looking to have too many others added on.
    Don’t see the point of dragging all my contacts into yet another site, we have only just gathered together from the last big upheaval!

    July 19, 2011 at 3:39 PM

  3. penelopephoebe

    I, too, have joined Google+, Chip and like Anne, I am undecided about it. Nothing will ever replace WLS from the old days, sadly.

    July 19, 2011 at 4:02 PM

  4. gryzowski

    can you send me an invite, I wanna try 🙂 hi by the way lol

    July 19, 2011 at 4:41 PM

  5. Not tried it yet I don’t think…but then again haven’t checked my google accounts for some time so thoughts pending!

    July 19, 2011 at 6:30 PM

  6. I’m not going to move over Chip.. but I hope its all you want it to be.. I have heard good and bad about it.. time will tell which is which I guess..

    July 19, 2011 at 6:43 PM

  7. Fizz

    Where’s my invitation?

    July 19, 2011 at 7:28 PM

  8. I won’t bother with the Google + thing. I didn’t like Google Buzz the way it was done and I turned the bankety blank thing off. FB is okay, but it constantly has security problems so I have the apps platform turned off, and the chat thing disabled (except for that new thingy they keep trying to get me to use). Since I use https chat should not work and I don’t want it to ever work. I hate how Yahoo has “improved” their email. HATE IT.

    July 20, 2011 at 9:10 AM

  9. Wanted to show you this about Goggle Plus. You might not want to be there.

    http://photofocus.com/2011/07/06/google-plus-read-the-fine-print-before-you-sign-up/

    July 24, 2011 at 6:24 AM

    • Roket Man

      I appreciate the warning. I read that when I signed up but since the images I’m sharing were already up on my Face Book and Picasa Web Albums pages I figure they’re probably already up for grabs anyway just like anything else on the web.

      July 24, 2011 at 10:21 AM

Leave a Reply

