The view from my perch on the mountain

A Step Back

I’ve developed the habit of carrying a camera everywhere I go because you never know when an opportunity will present itself. Today was one of those days.

IMG_8270

The heat and humidity were oppressive and the sky was dark and heavy with the threat of thunderstorms, standard summer afternoon weather for Virginia. Godzilla needed a fill up and even though THE BOSS took the truck away from me when she discovered how much fun it is to drive filling the tank is still my job. At least she lets me ride in my truck from time to time.

IMG_8272

After giving a large chunk of Frankie’s pay check back to her employer (Godzilla has a 30 gallon tank) we stopped off at the visitor’s center so that I could take a crack at shooting the restored buildings of  Wytheville’s Homestead Museum with my long lens.

For some reason this settlement, recreated with components salvaged from old building sites all over the county, is only open to visitors one day a year. Nobody I’ve asked seems to know why but I’ll keep asking.

IMG_8278

I’ve shot a few frames of the settlement in the past ……. from the window of the truck, stopped in the middle of the road…… but was never quite satisfied with the results. This afternoon Frankie parked the truck and I walked over to the sign announcing that the site was posted private property and used it as a rest for my 4 lb. 400MM lens.

IMG_8277

Which do you prefer, color or black and white?

IMG_8284

I think each has it’s own merits.

IMG_8294

As I mentioned, the settlement is only open to the public one day a year. The last two years we had frog choking rain on Heritage Day but that didn’t stop the organizers from carrying on with the exhibits and re-enactment of life in a frontier settlement. It did stop me but I’m ready now with an over size poncho for me and rain covers for my equipment in my camera bag. Now all I have to do is watch the local paper for the date of this year’s Heritage Day.

4 responses

  1. Great pics mate and I agree either colour or black and white they both have merit , weird that its only open one day of the year , look forward to further shots when you get in
    Ian aka Emu

    July 8, 2011 at 9:41 PM

  2. Very nice photos. I had no idea this was in Wythville. I have not been down that way in a very long time. I’m glad folks are taking steps to preserve their history.

    July 8, 2011 at 11:03 PM

  3. I like them both…the two effects give different impressions and aspects to the same pic. So you have to ride in the back of Godzilla now…lol…pleased to know you know your place!! 😉

    July 9, 2011 at 4:44 PM

  4. I always regret it when I leave a camera at home 🙂

    July 14, 2011 at 5:25 PM

Leave a Reply

