The view from my perch on the mountain

Another mouth to feed!

At my mom’s house there are two large white oaks in the front yard. Squirrels in the yard were a common site, especially after she began putting peanuts out for them. She eventually stopped doing that after my brother came home to discover that a squirrel had chewed through the screen on his bedroom window and was sitting on his bed, waiting for a hand out.

squirrel

This is when I began calling him Squirrel Boy. Frankie and I even went so far as to make him a T-shirt that read “They call me Squirrel Boy!” across the back and had this image on the front.

Being the oldest, and arguably the meanest, of six siblings I have been known to saddle each one of them with nicknames, usually after they’ve done something spectacularly funny…..or stupid……and made the mistake of letting me find out about it. 

He didn’t seem to mind the new moniker too much at first. In fact he was happy that people finally stopped calling him Gorilla Lips. (This being a family blog I won’t go into that.)

Then his drinking buddies began asking about the real reason that rodent was in his bed.

I thought that was hilarious!

He did not.

But I digress.

In June 2004 my family moved to Southwestern Virginia where Frankie, our daughter and I settled into small town life in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Squirrel Boy stayed behind to try to live down his perceived perversion earn another nickname so people would stop looking at him that way! in the hope that people would stop asking how he came to be known as Squirrel Boy.

So far they haven’t.

MWAHAHAHAHA!

It wasn’t until we had been here for a few months that I realized I hadn’t seen many squirrels even though our yard backs up to a heavily wooded ridge. We’ve seen a lot of whitetail deer, chipmunks, possums, raccoons and even the occasional coyote or black bear in the backyard but never any squirrels.

That changed this afternoon.

IMG_8000

 

 

IMG_8032

 

 

IMG_8051

 

 

IMG_8063

 

 

IMG_8064

 

 

IMG_8079

I’m not making the same mistake my mom made. This little guy seems content to eat sunflower seeds that have fallen from the feeders in Burd Town.

We’re not putting out any peanuts!

I’m not waking up with any squirrels in my bed!

5 responses

  1. Love it… Of course I love anything related to squirrels!

    My husband and I made this mistake when we first moved to Tn. from Ca. We were feeding the deer, squirrels, birds, heck just about every cute little critter that wandered into our yard, until we realized just how much they were starting to eat and DEPEND on us to feed them.

    We quit feeding them and now they call our neighbors house home, with an occasional nibble on my rose bush once in a while. I have only had one rose bush incident this year along with an oriental lily. I started spraying deer and critter repellant around our garden areas and so far it seems to be working.

    The only critters we feed now are the birds and two lazy cats!

    July 5, 2011 at 10:49 PM

  2. such a funny littly guy 🙂

    July 6, 2011 at 3:37 AM

  3. squirrels … another love/hate relationship. they are cute, and cant be blamend for doing what squirrels do … but … they can be pretty distructive in houses and such. best to love them from afar, and just let them find their own food. i have fed them in the past too, and found how demanding they can get after a very short time.
    i would love to see your possoms, if you can get some shots of them! i have a special affinity for them 😉
    k☼

    July 6, 2011 at 9:37 AM

  4. Wow, that’s one hungry squirrel who wasn’t going to take ‘no’ for an answer!

    July 8, 2011 at 4:48 PM

  5. I love squirrels! They transmit me so much affection…
    Lovely shots.
    Good weekend, honey.
    A warm hug.

    July 8, 2011 at 11:06 PM

Leave a Reply

