The view from my perch on the mountain

HOT, HOT,HOT!

According to the National Weather Service:

Capture

THEY LIE!

melted-icecream-truck-01

Our indoor/outdoor thermometer is reading 94 °F (34 °C), it is HUMID and the hottest part of the day is still to come. It is so oppressive out there that Buddy opted to bark at a cat from the shade on the porch rather than chasing it!

Thank God for air conditioning! ours is working just fine and, thanks to a rare bout of common sense, I’ll be staying indoors where I can breathe. Even if I could tolerate the weather it would be near impossible to shoot any pictures with my glasses fogged up. That’s how I know the A/C is working properly!

Redneck tip for 4th of July safety: If you hear someone holler “Hey y’all, watch this!” DO NOT LOOK DIRECTLY AT THE FLASH!

 

10 responses

  1. we have 97º at the moment, with temps approaching 100º+, not counting the heat index. bleh! our dogs wont even hang out on the porch … they rather stay inside. i dont wanna go out init either! i shoot birds from the window. heh
    k☼

    July 3, 2011 at 1:55 PM

    • Roket Man

      Now that gives me a great idea! Think I’ll open that box Frankie brought back from Virginia beach and see what’s involved in assembling her solar powered bird bath.

      July 3, 2011 at 2:01 PM

  2. AHAHAHAHAHAHA
    I loved the video! \o/ \o/ \o/

    If you come in Brazilian summer you probably melt. :))
    Good week for you, honey.
    Lots of sun, heat and cold beer.

    We are in winter here… fresh… fresh…
    Warm hug and love.

    July 3, 2011 at 2:06 PM

  3. LMAO… Waaay too much magnesium there fella! It’s so hot here, the fireworks would light themselves, all we have to do is line them up in the front yard and sit back and wait!

    Have a (COOL) 4TH!

    July 3, 2011 at 2:08 PM

  4. Hi Chip.. love the first photo.. in fact I feel pretty much the same way.. its hot hot hot here as well.. not used to this heat.. that is for sure..
    I hope you have a wonderful day.. I know you must really think of your father this day.. soft hugs…
    oh and I don’t blame Buddy for not wanting to get off that porch to chase the cat.. another day I am sure..

    July 3, 2011 at 8:43 PM

  5. hope it cools down a bit for you tomorrow, at lest Buddy still get to yell at the cats,
    Take care
    Sue

    July 4, 2011 at 12:05 AM

  6. On days like yours I stay indoors with the AC going full blast.

    July 4, 2011 at 7:07 AM

    • Roket Man

      On days like these if my glasses don’t fog up when I step outdoors i crank the A/C up a little more!

      July 4, 2011 at 9:54 AM

  7. Between 25 and 30 degrees C here and Wolfie about ready to spontaneously combust lol That ice cream van graphic sums the situation up very nicely 🙂 Mind if I join your burds in the solar powered burd bath you mentioned in your comment above? 😉 No air con in my den and about 100 degrees up there even with the window open! Wolfie has fogged up sun glasses too! 🙂

    July 5, 2011 at 11:50 AM

  8. Near 90 today in lower Michigan.. it truly has been a hot summer already and more to come. The watermelons are delicious this year because we all have had such weather. At least one good thing to come of it. Now lets hope the power stays on. Keeping fingers crossed!!

    July 5, 2011 at 7:17 PM

Leave a Reply

