The view from my perch on the mountain

June Wrap Up

Random shots to bring June to a close.

IMG_7658

This guy startled me last night when it flew within inches of my head as I was taking Buddy out for his midnight constitutional. I thought I was being dive bombed by a bat!

IMG_7660

To give you an idea of his size, the slats in the lattice measures are 2 inches wide. I’m pleased with the way these two shots, made at night in “full auto” mode using nothing but the built in flash, turned out.

IMG_7671

“AHHHHHHH! Rolling in the grass feels SO GOOD!”

IMG_7694

The Mimosa down the road finally bloomed while we were gone. Frankie has a couple of seedlings growing in her “pot farm”. Mom had one in our yard when I was growing up and I learned, the hard way, that those pretty blossoms are murder on a car’s paint job.

IMG_7741

Frankie’s Knockout Rose is blooming nicely and loaded with buds.

IMG_7767

Her Daylilies are finally blooming, as well. It was odd to arrive at Mom’s and see hers in bloom while Frankie’s were just beginning to bud.

Capture

Even though Mom only lives 325 miles east of us our higher altitude (approximately 2500 feet above sea level vs. 9 at Mom’s) makes for a fairly drastic difference in the growing season.

IMG_7775

There’s that goofy dawg again….always ready to pose for a picture.

IMG_7787 

 

IMG_7807

Petunias waiting to be transplanted. Mom always loads Frankie up with plants and seeds from her flower beds. Judging by the number of bags and pots I helped unload from the truck when we got home Frankie now has enough to turn the entire ridge into one huge flower bed……twice!

IMG_7821

This farmer is slow putting up hay this season. The field at the top of our road was mowed, bailed and hauled off  in about a month ago and the second crop is growing nicely thanks to the abundant rain last month.

Okay, time to break out the portable hard drive, transfer the June photos and make room for July. I do this the 1st of each month and also do a full back up of the laptop hard drive while I’m at it. After 17 years of computing and some disastrous crashes I’ve become a back up fanatic……..and it’s saved my butt several times in the last few years.

9 responses

  1. Amazing, that butterfly! looks like half a pancake ^^

    July 1, 2011 at 12:17 PM

  2. I love the spider web on the day lily … lovely fresh shot … and you’re oh so wise …. unlike me .. always full of good intentions, but the 1st of the month just comes around too fast …. even so, thanks for the reminder … I’m off to back up now …

    July 1, 2011 at 1:10 PM

  3. Hi Chip, got round to paying you a visit,
    Your day lilies have got a march on mine, they’re just budding up, Not a flower I particularly like, it lives up to its name, just blooms for a day then goes all limp and mouldy looking,also they spread too much,, I’m forever chopping them back. Buddy looks very handsome in the pic though.
    I’ve got a pot of very pretty Princess Lilies, Frankie might like to try them out, much prettier,
    The rose is very nice though, such a pretty shade of pink, though the blurb says Fire engine Red, not one I’m familiar with. Have a good week end all of you
    Woofs to Buddy from Ruby and Tango

    July 1, 2011 at 3:46 PM

  4. I meant to say, that moth is some size, scary something like that bombing you, good shots though, you should rightly be proud of them.

    July 1, 2011 at 3:49 PM

  5. Oh! So it was a moth was it?! thought it was a funny looking bat! I’ve been divebombed by a few at dusk at my friend’s house and they certainly didn’t look like that! Love that one of Buddy relaxing to the utmost lol 😉

    July 1, 2011 at 5:29 PM

  6. I loved all the pictures! Gorgeous!
    But… guess what I liked most?
    A big hug for Buddy! 😉
    Good weekend, honey.
    Kisses and love.

    July 1, 2011 at 8:11 PM

  7. I believe that’s an Imperial Moth, and a very large one at that! Beautiful lilies and roses!

    July 2, 2011 at 12:07 AM

  8. Beautiful moth! I’ve had some bug encounters like that. When its Cicada and Katydid season, always have one pestering me at one time or another. Great pictures as always!

    July 2, 2011 at 6:38 AM

  9. I’ve never seen a moth like that!

    July 3, 2011 at 5:00 PM

Leave a Reply

