The view from my perch on the mountain

DUX!

Mom’s house is well known amongst the wildlife living in the vicinity of her home. Her neighborhood is located next to one of the city parks and the critters know Mom is always good for a handout so squirrels, rabbits and ducks are frequent visitors.

IMG_5789

This pair shows up every afternoon and they’re not the least bit skittish around humans.

IMG_5751

The male usually stands watch while the female grazes.

IMG_5774

Once she’s had her fill she takes her turn at watch while her mate eats.

IMG_5084

One afternoon the visitors got a rude surprise when I turned Buddy loose in the backyard to take care of business. I had forgotten about the ducks but Buddy hadn’t. He had a ball chasing them out of the yard. I think he may have been trying to play with them and was puzzled when they took flight. I also think he was trying to figure out how they did that because it looked like a lot of fun.

IMG_6591

The next afternoon I was taking a short siesta when I was awakened by quacking that seemed to be coming from just outside the open window. Looking outside I didn’t see any ducks so I went outside to see where the noise was coming from.

IMG_6611

Yep, they were on the roof! First time I ever saw ducks perched on a roof but they were definitely “Buddy proof” up there.

IMG_6604

“Hey, Fat Boy, toss the feed up here. we know that big red dog can’t jump this high!”

5 responses

  1. I think ducks are so pretty.

    June 30, 2011 at 7:28 PM

  2. Oh i can just see Buddy, having the time of his life, running after the ducks
    great pic Chip
    How all is well on your side of the pond
    Take care
    Sue

    July 1, 2011 at 12:02 AM

  3. LOL!! My Bouvier used to love ducks … he would run and put a great paw on their backs and look completely surprised as they were flattened and then lept up squawking to run away again … he thought it a great game, though I’m sure the ducks were not nearly as impressed!!! I think those were too well fed to fly!!

    The shots on the roof have a definite superior air about them …

    July 1, 2011 at 1:40 AM

  4. Making birds fly up is one of Bongo’s greatest pleasures.

    July 1, 2011 at 6:55 AM

  5. Cool ducks! they sure know how to avoid becoming Buddy dinner!

    July 1, 2011 at 5:57 PM

Leave a comment