The view from my perch on the mountain

A Day At The Beach

I don’t know what I did to irritate Poseidon, King Neptune and/or Mother Nature. All three seemed determined to keep us from enjoying a trip to the beach.

Grrr 1

Our first attempt to enjoy some surf and sand was a flop. I knew about the restrictions concerning dogs on the Chesapeake Bay beaches but obeying that particular city ordinance never crossed what’s left of my mind. When we still lived here most of this end of the beach was privately owned and the rules were ignored by the locals. As you can see, someone has already expressed their opinion of this ordinance with a strategically placed sticker. I had every intention of ignoring it as usual until I ran into into a cop on an ATV patrolling the beach. Luckily he believed my story about being a tourist and not seeing the sign.

Grrr 2

The next evening we arrived, after 6:00, to find a new sign:

Grrr 3

Since dogs are almost never allowed on the beach on the Atlantic Ocean side of the city it looked like Buddy was going to have to wait for his first dip in anything larger than a stock pond back home.

YEEHAW!

After 2 days the swimming ban was lifted and Buddy finally got to take a dip in the Chesapeake Bay.  He was a little leery of the waves and had to be led into the water at first but soon overcame his misgivings and did his level best to drown both me and my nephew.

NOTE: Frankie shot the frame above and 2 below with her little Canon point and shoot, proving that it doesn’t take a lot of expensive equipment to turn out some great shots! Her nrvgirl tag refers to the New River Valley where she was born and raised and where we now live.

100_0295

This is my nephew Christopher. Though we share the same birthday he is MUCH younger and doesn’t mind keeping Buddy busy while I shoot a few frames. I also had my hands full fighting off Greenpeace activists who kept trying to push me into the water while chanting “Save the whale!”

100_0293

Yes, the jolly fat man in these two shots is yours truly. They also reveal one of my secrets; I not only shoot a lot of frames, I also use two cameras. The one with all the glass mounted is digital and the one up front is a 35MM film model. The 35MM doesn’t get nearly as much use as the digital model due to the cost of film and processing but I do use it from time to time, especially for family shots when a lot of people want prints. I come from a big family! Both cameras are Canon EOS Rebels.

Sea Gull Pier 1

I used all that glass at maximum zoom to get these shots (above and below). That’s the fishing pier on the first island of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel, three miles from where I was standing when I shot it. The shot below looks a little closer but that’s because I cropped out the blurry nose of the jet ski that zoomed into frame from the left just as I tripped the shutter release.

Sea Gull Pier 2

As I mentioned, the sun didn’t hang around long. I had forgotten how quickly the fog could roll in.

IMG_6740

This is one of about a dozen commercial ships anchored in Lynnhaven Roads awaiting a berth at Norfolk International Terminals to take of cargo. Within minutes of taking this shot the ship was completely obscured by the fast moving fog.

IMG_6750

My better half, Frankie, aka THE BOSS!, aka SHE WHO SHALL BE OBEYED! with Buddy. Usually it’s next to impossible to get her to sit still for a photo but I cheated and got this one with a long lens while she wasn’t looking. She actually said she likes this shot and will not tenderize my head with her cast iron skillet if I post it.

10 responses

  1. penelopephoebe

    Cracking photos, Chip, especially the one of Frankie and Buddy. The bacteria levels warning and restriction must be a bit worrying.

    June 25, 2011 at 3:16 PM

  2. fully agree with penelopephoebe’s comment above.

    June 25, 2011 at 3:33 PM

  3. I really enjoyed this post! We have the same difficulty with our water here in Ontario, but our bans usually last anywhere from a week to the end of summer depending on the pollution.

    June 25, 2011 at 5:37 PM

    • The talking heads on the idiot box reported that according to Health Dept. officials the high bacteria level was caused by dog droppings washing off peoples’ lawns and into the bay. The fact that there has not been a huge increase in the dog population this month or that the area is experiencing a prolonged drought doesn’t seem to enter into the equation. We were, however, assured that the fleet of foreign flagged shipping parked just off the beach has absolutely nothing to do with the problem which wasn’t present before the number of ships at anchor suddenly increased a couple of weeks ago.

      June 25, 2011 at 7:45 PM

      • I meant to add that the merchant vessels have holding tanks for sewerage and regulations dictate that they only dump them while well away from the coast but every day the news is full of people who think that rules and regulations are made to be broken………..

        June 26, 2011 at 2:19 PM

  4. I love the one of Frankie and Buddy,
    i see your have a water dog, love to see dog at the beach they always have such great time
    Take care
    Sue

    June 26, 2011 at 10:19 AM

    • Yep, he’s a 4 legged torpedo in the water! I’m an excellent swimmer but there’s no way I could keep up with him. He was actually slowing down to wait for me every time he noticed me lagging behind.

      June 26, 2011 at 2:21 PM

  5. looks like a good trip anyway, chip. just being by the water makes the world round again. buddy looks like he had a good time swimming.
    have you ever had a lab get limp tail from water that was too cold? the beau gave roy a bath last spring in the back yard with the hose, and his tail was limp for two weeks. seems a silly afliction for a water bird retrieval dog to get …
    k☼

    June 26, 2011 at 10:44 AM

    • No, Kirstin, never had that problem but both Buddy and Sam refused to go in the bay when we were home for the holidays. Friends who do a lot of duck hunting back home usually put special neoprene vests on their retrievers. They’re made from the same material used in wet suits. In addition to helping the dogs retain body heat they also serve as protection against injury from underwater snags and aid in buoyancy.

      June 26, 2011 at 2:14 PM

  6. Yeah, those warnings are very vexing. Just don’t know any more how dangerous something like bacteria can be. Everybody looked like they were enjoying themselves.

    July 3, 2011 at 9:46 AM

Leave a Reply

