The view from my perch on the mountain

Looking Back

In February of 2009 I was looking for something to occupy my time after being forced into early retirement by a bad fall at home. Accustomed to 60+ hour work weeks the sudden inactivity was driving me out of what was left of my mind. I had dabbled with photography when I was younger and my daughter had a Kodak point & shoot she wasn’t using so I did a web search for amateur photography, found tons of information, tutorials and several people willing to take me under their wing. The rest is….well, you know.

A great many of those people were blogging on Windows Live Spaces and before I knew it I was, too. Then the shutter bug had me in its grasp and I was drooling over photo supply catalogs. Two years ago this week I had finally saved enough for a Canon DSLR and I was posting 2 or 3 blogs a day, not just photo blogs, either. I had found an online family, some of whom were just as deranged as me….some even more…and when I didn’t have my eye glued to a view finder I was running rampant on the web. I was also still drooling over those photo supply catalogs.

Now I have a never ending list of new gear I just have to have and a growing collection of camera bags that never seem to be large enough to hold the gear I already have for very long.  At least I have finally learned to save up for what I want instead of just breaking out the credit cards. I wonder how much a good mule to haul my gear around is gonna cost.

As I said, it’s been 2 years since I started shooting with decent equipment. The recent heat wave we’ve been “enjoying” has kept me in the house for health reasons so today, as I was moving my May photos from the laptop to the portable hard drive, I thought it might be fun to post some of what I consider to be my better shots. I hope you enjoy seeing them as much as I enjoyed shooting them. If you would prefer to view a larger image of any frame just click on the thumb below the slide show.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

8 responses

  1. Beautiful!!

    Given a different situation, but the same time frame, I also have taken “early retirement” in the form of becoming a “housewife/jackie of all trades” and like you have found that I love photography and of course BLOGGING! I have yet to buy a decent camera though, because I keep talking myself out of it, even though I have the funds to buy one. Some day….. yep, yep, yep!

    In the meantime, would you be willing to point me in the right direction as far as information you found informative on the web? Everything I find is too advanced and slightly over my head.

    June 3, 2011 at 5:04 PM

  2. What an inspiring story and fine photography! I’m just starting out myself, happy to have found your blog 🙂

    June 3, 2011 at 10:03 PM

  3. Chip your photos are beautiful, cant believe you only been taking them for 2 years
    They should be in a book for the world to see,
    Hope all is well over your side of the pond
    take care
    Sue

    June 4, 2011 at 4:57 AM

  4. you have an intuitive eye for composition. most beautiful, even with a point and shoot. it isnt the camaera, its the photographer behind it that makes the picture. i have always liked coming here and seeing your handiwork. bet you could sell your shots to a magazine or card company, if you had a mind to.
    k☼

    June 4, 2011 at 9:26 AM

  5. Fizz

    Chip… I remember those days!! Well, most of them. I came on the scene about 6 months after your injury… You’re such a talent and I just love your perspective on everything…
    Keep up the great work!

    June 4, 2011 at 2:29 PM

  6. Beautiful photos…you have become such an expert at this!! 🙂

    June 5, 2011 at 11:26 AM

  7. must be great to do something like photography the pics are fantastic maybe you hurt yourself but at least your enjoying time to do what you like xxjen

    June 8, 2011 at 2:54 PM

Leave a Reply

