The view from my perch on the mountain

In Line for the Buffet

Before today’s oppressive heat and humidity drove me indoors I managed to catch this pair of House Finches perched on the shed roof, patiently waiting for a space at one of the feeders in Burd Town.

IMG_4828

 

IMG_4833

IMG_4840

If the weather guessers have it right it looks like my outdoor photography will be restricted to early morning or late afternoon until the middle of next month as an unusually early heat wave bears down on us. Summer’s oppressive heat and humidity aggravate my COPD so I’ll most likely be stuck indoors for most of the upcoming days.

At least I’ll have plenty of time to read and catch up on blogs!

Man, I can’t wait to get back home and out on the beach I grew up on! Getting back to that stretch of sand is always therapeutic for body and soul. The tang of salt on the sea breeze, gentle hiss or thundering roar depending on the size of the waves coming in and the feel of sand between my toes mean so much more to me now that I have to drive 325 miles to experience them instead of just walking over the crest of a sand dune. Only two weeks to go!

8 responses

  1. Bokeh is Lovely! I’m far North of you and right now is perfect weather for being out photographing … stuff! Just come on up to good ol’ Canuck town!

    Of course there is no wildlife here unless you like photographing pigeions and racoons. 🙂

    May 31, 2011 at 1:36 PM

  2. BEAUTIFUL!!

    May 31, 2011 at 11:17 PM

  3. Beautiful and cute little finches 🙂
    And when you go on that li’l ol’ ‘oliday…lol…you’d better be sure to take lots of piccies and prepare lots of blogs for us lot left behind!

    June 1, 2011 at 3:16 PM

    • Wolfie, I already have 2 spare SDHC cards in the camera bag.

      June 1, 2011 at 6:04 PM

  4. we have those here too!
    k☼

    June 2, 2011 at 7:44 AM

  5. Did you know birds are the closest relatives to dinosaurs? Not gators and turtles and lizards and such, but birds. So this means you risked your life to get those lovely pictures of finches. It could have been a bloodbath.

    June 3, 2011 at 1:32 PM

    • I did know that, Laura. That’s why I used a super telephoto lens…..and shot through the bedroom window……next to the gun vault!

      June 3, 2011 at 5:00 PM

  6. I like house finches, there’s a few around where I live in Ohio- pleasant to watch and hear.

    I’m not a big fan of hot and humid weather, either. Makes me enjoy autumn more when it comes though 🙂

    June 4, 2011 at 12:59 PM

Leave a Reply

