The view from my perch on the mountain

The Cove

Around these parts mention The Cove and people know you’re talking about Crockett’s Cove. Frankie had the day off and I guess Buddy and I have been acting a little stir crazy lately so she took us for a ride in The Cove to get a little fresh air.

This is some of what we saw:

IMG_4099

She was probably 150 yards away when I shot this from Godzilla’s passenger side window. That new lens really brings ‘em in close!

At sunset there are hundreds of deer in the fields lining each side of the road. When we were there (mid afternoon) only one came out to pose for me. Local lore says the redder the coat on the deer is in the spring, the hotter the summer will be. We’re in for a scorcher!

IMG_4104

Fire tower at max zoom w/ 18-55MM IS lens, handheld

IMG_4105

Same as above at max zoom w/55-250MM IS lens, handheld

IMG_4107

Last but not least using 150-500MM stabilized lens, handheld

IMG_4123

Heavy traffic on Cove Road

IMG_4126

They even have warning signs

IMG_4129

I think the guy driving that tractor even posed for the sign!

IMG_4149

Don’t know if it’s still in use but I like it!

IMG_4153

IMG_4158

IMG_4168

IMG_4420

Uh, oh…..time to go home!

You know, writing this post brought up a couple of points to ponder.

I’ve noticed, not for the first time, that I must be turning into a country boy. Why else would I equate the aroma of fresh cow manure with clean air?

I also wonder how Frankie could tell I was going stir crazy.

Have I been acting crazier than usual?

Is that possible?

Is she collecting evidence for an imminent commitment hearing?

Should I start practicing getting out of restraints?

Am I really gonna want to escape from my restraints?

11 responses

  1. From the looks of those clouds, I would say you should take cover! Love the little cabin, sounds like you had a great day. 🙂

    May 27, 2011 at 1:34 AM

  2. I love this kind of roses!

    May 27, 2011 at 1:42 AM

  3. The tractor sign is great, do you think he has an alarm to say if someone is driving on his road so he runs out and jumps in the tractor with his hat on just to show off!
    Crikey, that lens could pick up a pimple on a flea at a mile away!
    We had clouds like that here last evening along with a downpour, lightning and thunder and there was me stuck at the end of the garden potting up some plants and could not get back to the house, lucky I could sit and carry on in the shed.

    May 27, 2011 at 3:16 AM

    • Roket Man

      I’d bet he does. We had some intense thunderstorms last night and flash flood warnings until 3:00 AM. Today is cloudy and cool with scattered showers but the weather guessers are calling for the three H’s (hazy, hot and humid) all next week which means we’ll be dealing with afternoon and evening pop up storms every day. That’s summer in Virginia.

      May 27, 2011 at 10:43 AM

  4. That barn looks like it may have been a house at one time, what with having a porch.

    Love the deer shot too! Actually I love ’em all.

    May 27, 2011 at 6:17 AM

  5. Wow! That’s a rackety old tractor!! The driver probably has a vantage point to watch for aproaching vehicles, then pulls out just ahead of them and pootles off down the road at a snails pace…lol!! No, we don’t have such things happen here…!!

    May 27, 2011 at 9:03 AM

    • Roket Man

      I don’t know about that last statement, Sandi. I have it on good authority that you have to doge mad ginger bus drivers in white vans.

      May 27, 2011 at 11:05 AM

  6. I so hope that little cabin is still being use,and the deer, if red the colour you in for a very hot summer, what kind of rose it??
    Hope you all have good weekend
    take care
    Sue

    May 27, 2011 at 10:03 AM

  7. Roket Man

    No idea, Sue. They grow wild along the sides of the roads. The bush these were on was climbing up a tree and was at least 10 feet high.

    May 27, 2011 at 10:38 AM

  8. It’s good that Frankie lets you and Buddy out to clear your heads, or we’d be deprived of these smashing shots. When I saw the tractor I thought it was part of the tower, the way it followed on from the sequence. silly me!
    The roses are the wild briar rose, I put one up on my blog earlier, and have in fact taken a few this morning, we have colours from white to deep pink.
    I’d love to be atop that tower, what a view it must be.

    May 27, 2011 at 3:38 PM

    • Roket Man

      Frankie says to thank you for identifying that rose, Arlene 🙂

      May 27, 2011 at 4:21 PM

Leave a Reply

