The view from my perch on the mountain

Eagles, schmeagles!

As I explained in todays post on my Virginia Through My Lens page unforeseen circumstances (Frankie broke the weather!) prevented my getting shots of the bald eagles I went looking for. However, we did make the trip to the river and I got a few frames of other critters.

IMG_3869

I had to shoot this through a chain link fence. The guy behind us was gunning his engine preventing my climbing out of the truck and up on the roof to shoot over the fence…..and Frankie wouldn’t let me shoot his headlight out……something about getting arrested blah, blah, blah……

IMG_3893

When we got to the river Buddy met another dog (a female boxer) but I couldn’t get any pictures because I was too busy trying not to get dragged to my death as Buddy went out of his mind. Anyway, we all know what dogs do when they first meet and we don’t need pictures of THAT!

IMG_3895

After the boxer got into her truck Buddy made a bee line for the river. I had to keep him on lead because the river was up after the heavy rains last night and I wasn’t sure if he could handle the swift currents. There was quite a bit of flash flooding in this area overnight and a couple of the nearby communities were still dealing with high water. Laura’s boyfriend lives nearby and had to stay with an aunt and uncle because he couldn’t get to his mother’s house last night!

IMG_3925

Ah, young love! This couple was enjoying the warm weather on a nearby picnic table. Figuring the last thing they needed was a couple of old geezers and a lunatic dog intruding we respected their privacy while still enjoying the music.

IMG_3937

On the way out of the parking lot we discovered that the young man wasn’t the only musician. Both were very talented!

IMG_3950

Naturally, after I had packed up most of my gear, climbed in the truck and got settled for the ride home the sun peaked out and the sky began to clear. I wasn’t too disappointed because the eagles I was looking for were nowhere in sight and I have an excuse to come back again when the weather’s nicer.

IMG_4040

After we got home and had a bite to eat Frankie asked me to bring my camera outside to shoot a few frames of the mystery plant Mom gave her which is just about to bloom for the first time. Figuring there was no need for my long lens I mounted my 55-250MM and walked out the door.

IMG_4051

Wouldn’t you know it; as soon as I snapped the first frame I heard honking overhead and looked up just in time to catch a group of Canada Geese flying low overhead! I also noticed the cloud cover had vanished!

IMG_4057

I don’t know if I could have tracked these guys while trying to balance that monster lens looking straight up but I sure would have liked to give it a try.

IMG_4066

Instead I settled for a shot of Frankie’s Knockout Roses which are blooming like wildfire!

Oh, well, even though I didn’t get to shoot the eagles we still had a nice day out and there’s always tomorrow. And, from the way Buddy reacted when he saw that river we have no doubt he’ll absolutely love the beach when we go home…….3 weeks from tomorrow! YEE-HAW!

7 responses

  1. Beautiful and captivating shots Chip! Love the *young lovers*. They look as though they were caught up in each other quite well. All your shots are beautiful and bright. Love’em!

    May 23, 2011 at 9:17 PM

  2. Sorry about the weather, I’ve been having the same luck here with my Monday Marvel sunrise shots, there isn’t anything spectacular about a grey cloudy sky for some reason.

    Great shots, love the llama(?)

    May 23, 2011 at 11:15 PM

  3. all nice, even the llama ^^

    May 24, 2011 at 2:01 AM

  4. It’s nice here 🙂 Warm…sunny…blue skies…middle of summer sort of weather…come on over! Smart move keeping Buddy on the lead in those circumstances…no doubt you would have tried leaping in behind him to rescue him if he’d got washed away…lol…and I can imagine the whacka whacka,bangy bangy from the Boss later if you had! Ah yes…young love…now tell me again, what’s that?!! 🙂

    May 24, 2011 at 11:54 AM

  5. That was a nice post Chip, just about everything in there , Buddy’s adventure, musicians, birds, flowers , altogether a nice day out,

    May 28, 2011 at 10:53 AM

  6. Very pretty as always!

    May 29, 2011 at 1:53 AM

Leave a Reply

