The view from my perch on the mountain

Pine Siskin

Another day in the yard, experimenting with lens and camera settings. The lens is actually very user friendly and I’m at the point now where I can find the controls by feel and feel very comfortable using them. I’m even getting used to the weight of this beast!

Today I managed to get a few shots of this pine siskin before the finches chased him off the thistle sock.

IMG_3708

He got a few seeds before retreating and there’s no danger of him starving because there are tons of thistles growing along the tree line behind the house.

IMG_3722

Maybe the finches are dealing a little payback to the siskins. Normally they’re the ones arriving in droves and chasing the other birds away from the free eats.

IMG_3761

Frankie has the day off tomorrow and the weather forecast looks spectacular so we’ve made plans to load up Godzilla and go on a little photo trek. The price of gas has even dropped to the point that we don’t feel guilty about burning a few gallons for a ride in the country.

I have one destination on the agenda that will really allow me to put my new glass through it’s paces. On past trips I’ve discovered a nesting pair of bald eagles but could never zoom in tight enough for decent photos. Now that I have the big lens I can’t wait to pay those magnificent birds a return visit!

As usual, pictures to follow.

7 responses

  1. The second one is outstandig, honey!
    I love birds! I love your photos!
    And I love Buddy! Where is it? :))

    Have a great week.
    Hugs and love.

    May 22, 2011 at 8:16 PM

  2. I agree: the second one – must be the presumed “expression” because of the bird’s posture.

    May 23, 2011 at 1:13 AM

  3. Chip, you sure are lucky to see Pine Siskins. I’ve never seen them at all in my yard.

    May 23, 2011 at 3:07 AM

  4. Fizz

    Great photos… thank you for honoring my request!!

    May 23, 2011 at 9:01 AM

  5. I’m holding my breath to see the bald eagles … magnificent birds …. I’m so glad the lens is proving such a great companion …

    May 23, 2011 at 11:47 AM

  6. Love that last pic…it looks so serious 😉 And intense and determined!

    May 24, 2011 at 12:02 PM

  7. That middle one has a look about him that says,’ eat my seed, feel my beak. so watch it! ‘
    Lovely pics.

    May 24, 2011 at 4:30 PM

Leave a Reply

