The view from my perch on the mountain

Learning the New Lens

After mowing the lawn this morning Buddy and I spent some time outdoors enjoying a summer like day and experimenting with my new telephoto lens. I think I’m getting a handle on it but I’ll continue to practice, practice. practice. At least my forearms aren’t aching too badly from holding that 4 lb. monster up.

Incidentally, with the steep corporate discount, courtesy of the company I was working for when I had my accident, combined with the close out discount offered by the supply house I purchased this lens from my actual cost was less than half that quoted on the Sigma catalog page the first link takes you to.

Frankie had Godzilla today so Buddy and I were sticking close to home. These are a few of the best shots I managed to capture from the front porch at an average range of 15 to 20 yards. I can’t wait to get out and about with my new gear, especially on the beach next month when we go home on vacation.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you’d like to see larger views of today’s images just click on the images from the gallery below.

If you would like to insert slide shows into your WordPress posts a step by step tutorial can be found herePuzzle, a talented, creative and prolific blogger gave me the link a while back when I was still learning my way around here. I have followed her blogs since my first post on Windows Live Spaces a little over two years ago. Thank you, Heide for your friendship, knowledge and inspiration!

11 responses

  1. Ahhhhhhhhh what a beautiful!
    You don’t need to train with the new machine! You’re already too good photographing nature! I love it!
    Good Sunday, honey.
    Many kisses and a special on Buddy. :))

    May 21, 2011 at 9:18 PM

  2. Beautiful birds! I love the slide show. Would I be able to put this on Blogger?

    May 21, 2011 at 9:27 PM

    • Roket Man

      I don’t know, Wanda. I’m sure there is probably a way of posting one on Blogger but I haven’t tried…..yet.

      May 21, 2011 at 9:53 PM

  3. Great shots, and I particularly love the slide show effect ….. thanks for the link … if I ever find time again to blog I will come looking for this …
    Happy clicking!!

    May 22, 2011 at 12:30 AM

  4. love the slide show Chip,your having a great time with that new lens
    Hope the sun stay out for you
    take care
    Sue

    May 22, 2011 at 1:31 AM

  5. all those funny birds and little creatures need a gallery with comments on their separate images! – a lot of WordPress-visitors don’t know what happens if they click to certain images in the gallery, I bet. 😉

    May 22, 2011 at 3:14 AM

    • and – of course – thank you for your friendship and words and visits :-*

      May 22, 2011 at 3:16 AM

  6. I don’t know…a 4 pounder?!!! HooOOOOWWWWLLLLooooooL 😉 Gorgeous photos…funny…I use the slideshow feature on my other W/P site but for some reason never have on this one. Maybe because I prefer to use Live Writer rather than directly on W/P I guess. Must give it a try!

    May 22, 2011 at 9:39 AM

  7. What…no self portrait of “Boy with New Toy”? lol! Chip Allen without his camera would be like and ham and cheese on rye without the ham!…wait a sec, I just read that..it wasn’t SUPPOSED to be a joke! Honest! And I thought I was doing something with the eensy weesny Canon Digital my kids gave us for Christmas…I KNOW NOTHING! Beautiful burdz, Chip, just beautiful! love, Katie.

    http://katynana.wordpress.com/2011/05/22/chip-and-his-burdz

    May 22, 2011 at 10:56 AM

  8. Fizz

    Wonderful! Thank you!I love the photos… you’re so good at this!

    May 23, 2011 at 8:07 AM

  9. Oh yes, Chip, things are getting better, beautifully photographed and presented, you have really got into this photography business, loved the little babies at the beginning, and the siskin, , beautiful colour. Thanks for sharing, if and when I get time I’ll go into the slide tuition, but it only takes two days away from the computer and you seem to have a weeks worth of posts and comments to catch up on.

    May 24, 2011 at 4:28 PM

Leave a Reply

