The view from my perch on the mountain

New Glass!

Santa Claus arrived yesterday in his BIG BROWN TRUCK.

He delivered the new super telephoto zoom lens THE BOSS let me order and I am STOKED!

IMG_2793

The new lens (150-500MM) compared to my previous “long lens” (55-250MM). The case that came with the new lens is almost as big as my camera bag! For that matter, the lens hood that come with that big critter in actually taller than the lens on the right!

100_0228

THE BOSS let me ride along when she went to town to run some errands this morning and, as always, I had my camera with me. While Buddy and I waited for her in the Wal-Mart parking lot a man walking by noticed me experimenting with different camera and lens settings and stopped to ask if I could see the moon with that thing. I told him it was too close and I think he believed me.

Now I need to get Buddy fitted for a pack harness so that he can tote that monster for me. According to the manual that came with it ……..yes, I read the manual…….. the optical stabilizer allows for free hand shooting but until I get all the bells and whistles figured out the tripod I keep forgetting to take with me will suddenly become a must have item.

We’ve had rain 14 out of the last 18 days and it’s really putting a crimp in my photography excursions. The weather guesser says the sun should return this weekend and I’m hoping to he’s right because I’m itching to get out and put this monster through it’s paces. Pictures to follow……..

5 responses

  1. penelopephoebe

    Wow, monster lens!

    May 19, 2011 at 12:31 PM

  2. gryzowski

    Blimey Chip youve got a big one !!

    May 19, 2011 at 12:33 PM

  3. Impressive. Male.
    I mean, like monster trucks, motorized chain saws, jackhammers and so.

    May 19, 2011 at 12:40 PM

  4. That thing is huge!

    May 19, 2011 at 9:51 PM

  5. WOW!!! Look at the size of that one!!! You don’t get em that big this side of the pond!!! lol 😉

    May 20, 2011 at 4:39 PM

Leave a Reply

