The view from my perch on the mountain

Fool in the Rain

IMG_2071

Yep, cabin fever and too many hours staring at the laptop monitor during online classes yesterday got the best of me. Even if it was pelting down rain and Buddy and I were on foot we were out looking for something to shoot this morning. Here are a few of the over 700 frames I shot before deciding that wandering around in the rain with $1,000+ worth of electronics and lenses in my hand might not be the best idea.

IMG_1766

Frankie’s Sea Lavender

IMG_1837

Columbine, or so I’m told

IMG_1804

Buttercups (I didn’t have to ask anyone what they were!)

IMG_1994

Lilies.

These go in the ground soon. Mom sent them home with us and they somehow ended up under the front porch. If Buddy hadn’t partially destroyed the porch we might never have found them!

IMG_1981

At the rate this critter was moving he’ll be a butterfly before he reaches the end of the flowerbed,

IMG_2154

You can always tell when a Blue Jay is nearby. These guys are LOUD!

IMG_2011

Our lonesome Mourning Dove. This species mates for life and he has apparently lost his mate. He always arrives alone, feeds a little and waits for the rest of the flock. When they arrive to feast on the seed spilled from the feeders by the other birds he’ll fly up to perch on the shed roof and keep watch for marauding cats.

IMG_1855

I actually shot this one late yesterday afternoon when the sun broke through the clouds for a few minutes. We’ve had a few stray sunbeams today but they haven’t lasted long enough to produce any rainbows today.

Now to see how long I can stand sorting and editing the photos I downloaded from the memory card. I’ve posted a few of the better ones I’ve already done on my Blogger page, Virginia Through My Lens.

7 responses

  1. Unique moments! Special!

    A warm hug, honey.

    May 14, 2011 at 6:03 PM

  2. That’s a “tent caterpillar.” If you have any fruit trees, you might want to get rid of him.

    May 14, 2011 at 7:15 PM

  3. Chip just beautiful. All of the and that Columbines color is stunning. I have a few just coming up.

    May 14, 2011 at 7:34 PM

  4. Unfortunately, there are too many miles between our gardens to send Frankie some of my dark-violet columbines – I love them, too, and they are seeding and spreading generously.
    Also, I love the pic with the rain falling down. (Maybe for the reason, around here we need rain?) It is beautiful. I wonder how he does, but the Blue Jay even is looking loud.

    May 15, 2011 at 3:13 AM

  5. Poor little Mourning Dove! That’s so sad to think he’s lost his lifetime mate! Hope she returns to him 🙂 The photos are as always great viewing and the rain one is especially cool … not that I want any here thank you….just saying lol 😉

    No sciving from your online lessons though!! Buddy will need to keep an eye on you young RM!! 🙂

    May 15, 2011 at 7:18 PM

  6. arlene

    The tent caterpillar is wreaking havoc with the hawthorn here, stripping it bare, even the birds can’t keep up with eating them., also If I remember correctly, they can give you a nasty rash if touched.
    Columbine or Aquilegia are known as granny’s Bonnets here, they have self seeded all over my garden.
    I’ve got a pot of Lillies like them, you’ve got to watch out for the lily beetle which will decimate them, [oh it’s a jungle out there] it’s a small red cigar shaped creature.
    Lovely pics chip, hope your camera equipment was OK.

    May 17, 2011 at 10:39 AM

  7. That is a Columbine. I love those Mourning Doves, love their cooing. Poor little guy. Lovely, as always, Chip.

    May 29, 2011 at 8:25 PM

Leave a Reply

