The view from my perch on the mountain

Two for Tuesday

Frankie (aka THE BOSS) hasn’t relinquished the keys to Godzilla since I pulled over on a country road two weeks ago and told her to get behind the wheel because it was high time she got over her fear of the big green beast.

Friends and family tell me that I must have lost what’s left of my mind.

I definitely lost my truck!

IMG_1713

Since Buddy and I can no longer roam far and wide we decided it was high time we taught Momma some bad habits. Today we talked her into taking us on a photo trip through a section of the Big Survey Wildlife Management Area.

IMG_1676

We had just turned onto the access road when I spotted a flicker of movement and there, about 20 yards away, stood the first whitetail deer (Odocoileus virginianus) I’ve seen in several weeks!

IMG_1680

I was very lucky to have my 55-200MM image stabilized zoom lens mounted on the camera.

IMG_1694

It wasn’t until after he had started to move that I realized he was a yearling buck, also known as a spike. His antlers are still in velvet.

IMG_1686

While I was shooting the deer Frankie pointed out the wild turkey (Meleagris gallopavo) tom (adult male, also known as a long beard) just a few yards behind him. Can you pick him out in this shot?

IMG_1686-1

How about in this cropped version? The term long beard refers to a tuft of feathers hanging down from the chest of the adult male.

Wildlife wasn’t enough for today’s excursion. We were actually out looking for mountain laurel in bloom but that’s a subject for another blog….or more accurately, my other blogging page, Virginia Through My Lens.

How’s that for shameless self promotion?

 

5 responses

  1. amazing pics! such a funny face, with those white eyebrows and that big black nose 🙂

    May 10, 2011 at 6:33 PM

  2. You were really lucky with that turkey, they have such sharp eyes which makes them a challenge to hunt. Great pictures as always.

    May 10, 2011 at 6:49 PM

  3. Ah… how beautiful! I’ve never seen one of those, only on Disney cartoons. :))
    Warm hug, honey!

    May 10, 2011 at 8:56 PM

  4. Fab shots of the buck…brilliant as always!

    May 12, 2011 at 6:28 AM

  5. Oooh! RM write this blog for Wolfie?!! lol…I totally love the Whitetail deer…as I’m sure you know I would 😉 I want him! Would like to take him home pleeeeeeeeeeease! 🙂

    May 12, 2011 at 5:50 PM

Leave a Reply

