The view from my perch on the mountain

No……

No carpentry today………..

I wrecked my back and I’m taking a break. You might want to mark your calendar at this rare instance of surrender to common sense on my part. It could be years before it happens again.

No wandering the back roads with Buddy………

Last week I momentarily lost my mind….or what’s left of it……..and I also lost Godzilla (my beloved Ford Expedition).

THE BOSS has been afraid to drive the truck because it’s so big and she’s so small. On one of her days off last week I “accidentally missed my turn” and the next turn “just happened” to be onto a lonely back road. I climbed out of the truck, told Frankie to swap places and off we went. After a few miles with no accidents and no opposing traffic she was hooked on the power and the view from way up there and was flying down one of the main county roads. She even whipped that big green monster into the Wal-Mart parking lot to pick up a few items. On the way out again she had that “Go ahead and pull out in front of me now!” gleam in her eye and I knew I was a walking man, once again.

No sitting in the backyard shooting burd photos…….

The neighbors are mowing and the burds done vamoosed, at least for the time being. They’re already upset at me for hanging out under their tree……and the feeders…..most of the past 2 days making all kinds of racket with the power tools and the obligatory swearing.

Oh well…….there is a bright side.

NO COOKING TODAY……

If THE BOSS isn’t wiped out from her shift at Sheetz we’re meeting up with the in laws at Foster Falls in New River Trail State Park for a cookout, maybe a little worm drowning fishing and maybe a few shots of the bald eagles (Haliaeetus leucocephalus) I spotted nesting across the river from the park on an earlier visit. I don’t have enough lens to get any decent shots of them on the nest but I may get lucky and catch them in flight.

We shall see…….

All these no’s reminds me of a song from the days of my misspent youth. Now it’s stuck in my head. If you click play below and it gets stuck in yours as well don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Go, Lurch, go!

After all these years I still think Morticia Addams (Carolyn Jones) is a dish!

6 responses

  1. funny video (H)

    April 30, 2011 at 3:02 PM

  2. If you were trying to do your thing in time to that video, no wonder you’ve done your back Chip, Lol, loved it though , I almost got off my butt and did a bit of shimmying, I was a mean mover in my young days, Memories, sigh.
    Seriously, I’m sorry your laid up again, you’ll just have to take it steady till it rights itself, and now that Frankie has mastered Godzilla, you’ve no excuse. I envy her, I wouldn’t mind a go on that thing myself.
    Take it easy.

    April 30, 2011 at 4:26 PM

  3. that was great! i always loved the addams family! i was a goth child even in grade school. ahhh and i loved lurch the best.
    soooo, since you cant do anything right now, you might as well watch more addams family youtubes hahahahaha
    k☼

    April 30, 2011 at 4:45 PM

  4. She WAS quite a looker, in a Bette Davis sort of way.

    April 30, 2011 at 7:14 PM

  5. Hi Chip
    I hope your back feeling better soon,
    love the clip, they dont make them like they use too
    Take care
    Sue

    April 30, 2011 at 7:54 PM

  6. Go Frankie! lol 😉 Now at last that poor back of yours gets a break! But I’m not sure you should indulge in the exercises in the vid 🙂

    May 2, 2011 at 9:48 AM

Leave a Reply

