The view from my perch on the mountain

Here We Go Again

For those of you who have risked whiplash while shaking your head over some of the things I do to myself (and admit to) this will probably come as no surprise. Spring Fever (aka THE MADNESS) has seized me once more. 

You’ll note that Frankie is running for her life in the first frame. After 25 years she has learned that when I get THAT LOOK in my eye it’s best to get far, far away. Of course, yesterday being my 27th birthday……again……she refrained from employing BANGY! BANGY! (the swift and repeated application of a cast iron skillet to my headbone until I change my mind…..what’s left of it).

IMG_0999

As I was out shooting photos of Frankie’s Azaleas in bloom I happened to note the sorry state of our picnic table.

IMG_1001

Four Blue Ridge Mountain winters have really done a number on this poor thing.

IMG_1003

Among other career paths (just call me a jack of all trades, master on none) I actually got paid to bend nails risk self inflicted amputation drive the site foreman to wonder if he had been drunk when he hired me work as a carpenter for a couple of years. A quick appraisal of that poor table revealed that I could salvage the frame but would have to replace the table and bench tops.

Piece of cake!

Yeah…….right.

IMG_1004

As with most home improvement projects, a simple project soon turned into a major pain…..literally! After two days of what has become a construction project rather than a repair my already screwed up back is killing me! Before my accident I could have built a new table in an afternoon. Of course, before my accident, I would have gotten by with repairing the table rather than building a new one.

At least the folks at Lowe’s are happy because I take the time to visit their web site before handing Frankie a list and saying “I need this.” She then drives to the store, walks up to the customer service counter, slaps the list on the counter and says “I need this.” The list even has the sku numbers and price so all they have to do is send one of their evil minions scurrying through the aisles to retrieve the items on the list.

Construction should be complete by tomorrow afternoon. I would say that all I had to do after that was stain and seal the finished table. I’m not saying anything of the sort even though I am about half stoned out of what’s left of my mind on prescription pain killers. That statement always gets me in trouble and I’m not tempting fate anymore until I start my next “simple” project.

At least, so far, I haven’t lost any fing…..

Oh no……you’re not going to read about me losing a thumb…….or maybe an ear applying stain. You may laugh but with me anything is possible! Is that neck starting to bother you a little bit now?

More photos to follow.

10 responses

  1. You are so funny!
    Home repairs really are too much work, but in the end everything will be beautiful!

    I love this kind of table and benches.
    I wish you good work! :))

    Have a good weekend, honey!
    A warm hug.

    April 29, 2011 at 10:10 PM

  2. What’s that saying about “good intentions”?

    April 29, 2011 at 10:54 PM

  3. Hi Chip
    So you where 27, yesterday, Happy Birthday to you, Happy Birthday to you,
    Hope the back is feeling better soon,
    Take care
    Sue

    April 29, 2011 at 11:31 PM

  4. Its nice to see you out and shooting and doing things once again.Sure sign of spring when we all get the fever. I tried to clean windows only to hurt my neck. My nose still hurts from time to time but all in all.. life is good. Dont get hurt.
    and
    if you come to Canada my deck needs a bit of fixing. 🙂
    Loved your blog over on Blogger. Happy BD again.

    April 30, 2011 at 12:06 AM

  5. ♫ ♬ ♪ ♩✿”Alles Gute zum Geburtstag!” ✿♫ ♬ ♪ ♩
    and I always love you describing your madnesses 😀

    April 30, 2011 at 2:57 AM

  6. youre so sweet, chip!
    k☼

    April 30, 2011 at 10:35 AM

  7. Now come on RM…you know you and home improvements tend to have a few issues shall we say! Just hope Buddy’s on standby when the time comes!! 🙂

    April 30, 2011 at 12:07 PM

  8. arlene

    My oh my Chip, you do get yourself into some scrapes don’t you? and don’t run away with thinking this is going to be a pushover job, you’ll still be at it for at least a week. LOL, but, my friend 10/10 for effort in your befuddled state, More photos purleeze. looking forward to the finished article. I bet Buddy hiding somewhere out of sight , wise dog.

    April 30, 2011 at 3:32 PM

Leave a Reply

