The view from my perch on the mountain

Pink Dogwood

Yesterday I mentioned wanting to get a few shots of a pink dogwood. The white variety is easy because they grow wild but the only pink ones I’ve seen have been in yards or near public buildings. Even though the light was poor due to rainy weather I managed to get a few frame today.

IMG_0754

This first one is in a yard along the road to town. I shot this from the truck window while stopped in the middle of the road. One of the benefits of living in a rural area is sparse traffic. Another is having friendly residents who will stop and let you get your shot. The lady traveling in the opposite direction saw my lens sticking out of the window, stopped until I was finished then continued on her way with a wave and a smile!

IMG_0758

My plan was to return later, park across the street at the medical clinic and shoot a few close ups on foot. THE BOSS saved me the trip, albeit unintentionally. After picking her up from work she asked me to stop by the library and what should I find right next the building but a pink dogwood!

IMG_0761

I’ll return when the sun is out but not even the poor light of a rainy day could diminish the beauty of these blossoms.

IMG_0768

The dogwood is the official tree of Virginia and it doesn’t feel like Spring until they’re in bloom.  In fact, clicking on the Virginia link above will take you to the official Commonwealth web site where the blossoms are prominently displayed in the header.

Virginia, also known as the Old Dominion, is not a state. One of the original 13 colonies and home to Jamestown, the first permanent English settlement in the New World, Virginia is one of four Commonwealths in the United States (Massachusetts, Kentucky and Pennsylvania are the others).

IMG_0771

Okay, enough of the history lesson. I have another blog to write before I find a blanket to crawl under until the chill I got shooting photos in the rain subsides. This sort of weather, light rain and 45° F (7°C) really gets into my bones.

If you care to see what else I shot on this rainy day you can find them on my Blogger page. Thanks for the visit!

5 responses

  1. Gorgeous!

    April 22, 2011 at 4:44 PM

  2. I think, the poor light was quite right to make the pink blossoms not look too “sweet” – all wonderful images!

    April 22, 2011 at 5:41 PM

  3. My God, it’s wonderful!
    I loved these images! Thank you!

    Happy Easter, honey!
    Warm hug and sweet kisses with chocolate!

    ( ),,( )
    (=’:’=)
    (,,)♥(,,)

    April 22, 2011 at 7:50 PM

  4. Very beautiful pictures!

    April 23, 2011 at 4:37 AM

  5. Fizz

    Nice Chip! Well done!!

    April 23, 2011 at 10:29 PM

Leave a Reply

