The view from my perch on the mountain

Touching Base

I haven’t been online much lately because events in the real world have monopolized my free time. Thank you all for your kind notes and concerned e-mails but I have not managed to get incarcerated or to hurt myself again….so far.

For those of you who don’t already know, I was injured in a serious fall at home in October 2005. Despite spinal repair surgery, 8 months in a #%@&!!! body brace and almost a year of intensive physical therapy those injuries left me permanently disabled and unable to hold a job. There aren’t many employers willing to hire an old geezer like me who can’t bend at the waist, sit, stand or walk for more than 15 or 20 minutes at a time, sees nothing wrong with using his cane to settle disagreements and consumes enough prescription drugs each day to keep a small horse stoned out of it’s gourd.

Well, hopefully, that’s about to change.

I’ve begun the application process with a company that specializes in matching people in my situation with federally subsidized work from home programs. I’ve begun the preliminary selection and qualifications process and should begin online training within the next week or so. Once that is completed I’ll be matched up with either a federal agency or private company and will be working from home part time.

This will cut into my online play time and my wandering through the countryside with my camera in my lap and dog at my side but the extra money will be welcome, even if I only make enough to cover my DSL/Sat TV and ammo bills as well as a new piece of photography gear every now and then.

Oh,man………I just looked at that last sentence and realized I’ll need 2 part time jobs just to cover the last item on my list! All I know is something’s gotta give because Social Security Disability Income just don’t cut it!

Well, there you have it. The reason for my mysterious absence lately. I’d write more or include a few photos but I have to practice speaking with an Indian accent in case I’m assigned to a tech support call center. Yeah, I know that’s not politically correct but……..well, you know.

8 responses

  1. I currently work at a call center, so I checked into a work-from-home company, hoping to cut gas usage and time away from the missus and the dog. However, they required a landline phone before even CONSIDERING you for employment. I’d gladly put one in to work the job, but NOT just for the priviledge of applying!

    April 14, 2011 at 7:44 PM

    • Roket Man

      For me it’ll just mean plugging a phone into the empty spot on the DSL jack. If I didn’t need a landline for Internet access I wouldn’t even have one but options are slim to none out here in the mountains. Rates for cable access here are ridiculous!

      April 14, 2011 at 7:58 PM

  2. I’m glad you found something you can do at home for pay. John Tesh – Intelligence for your Life Syndicated Radio Program – had a bunch of references for work at home stuff such as doing customer service for a number of companies. I know that the Va. Department of Rehab Services also has programs for folks using their computer at home. I had their representative come to the support group to give a talk on that very topic.

    April 15, 2011 at 12:59 AM

  3. NTI is federally funded. I found out about this place from the Kim Komando Show. With this, you have to go through a Va. DRS counselor. http://www.nticentral.org/work-at-home-jobs-disabled.shtm

    April 15, 2011 at 1:02 AM

  4. penelopephoebe

    Nice to read of good news, Chip. Hope you enjoy.

    April 15, 2011 at 5:18 AM

  5. That is exciting Chip, good luck and hope you get some work soon luv Karen x

    April 15, 2011 at 5:22 AM

  6. Just think of all these lovely new photos we’ll get when you can affird the state of the art photography equipment, wow, something to look forward to all round, fingers crossed for you Chip.

    April 15, 2011 at 3:54 PM

  7. cool! Very positive move on your part and I hope it all comes to fruition. It will be good for you! And not just financially 🙂

    April 18, 2011 at 11:21 AM

Leave a Reply

