The view from my perch on the mountain

From my archives

In case you haven’t heard, I managed to slam a storm window on my left hand a couple of days ago which means I now type with 2 fingers instead of my customary 4 and sometimes as many as 5 or 6 (2 on each hand and even a thumb now and then). The hand is not fractured but the deep bruising makes typing a very slow process and shooting pictures involves setting the zoom with my camera in my lap, picking it up with my right and hoping auto focus saves the shot. Since I do a great deal of my shooting from behind the wheel………. and Frankie scares easily………and I’m afraid of what she might do to me in retaliation……when I’m asleep……… I’m not doing much shooting lately.

THE BOSS has decided we need some fresh pictures on the walls so I’ve been digging through my portable hard drive……How did I mange to shoot over 40,000 frames in just 2 years?

Anyway, from the archives, I present a selection of some of the critters that roam in and around our backyard. Hope you enjoy.

IMG_4567

Seeing a piebald deer, like this one, is supposed to bring good luck. We had 2 making nightly visits last year and Frankie still hasn’t hit the lottery! She must be buying defective tickets.

IMG_4622

See? There’s another one and still no lottery jackpot!

IMG_4681

Peek a boo!

IMG_4735

In addition to shooting bird photos from the bedroom window, I also shoot deer photos when the opportunity presents itself. I shot the frame above as well as the next 4 while sitting on the foot of the bed with the window open.

IMG_4761

IMG_4778

IMG_4826

IMG_4908

IMG_5206

She’s got her hands….er, hoofs full with 2 fawns! Local wisdom hold that the redder the summer coat on the deer is, the hotter the summer. It was HOT when I shot this!IMG_5753

That piebald spike was a regular last summer but we haven’t seen him all winter. We’re not too concerned because bucks are far more skittish that does. Nobody hunts our ridge because local wisdom says there are no deer on Pine Ridge. He’s probably just hiding behind a tree until I put the camera away…….

IMG_5853

No, she’s not striking a pose. this doe injured her right foreleg a couple of years back. We were worried that she might not survive but she has and she showed up with her fawn last summer. I spotted her a couple of weeks ago and she’s still favoring that leg…..and she’s very pregnant!

IMG_6175

Hard to tell how many points the rack on that buck has but he was a large animal.

IMG_6194

IMG_6210

IMG_6235

Okay, time to hit the pillow.

5 responses

  1. Morning Chip
    Love your visitors , to see these beautiful animals come back year after year would be wonderful,
    Hope the hand feeling better
    Take care
    Sue

    April 5, 2011 at 3:57 AM

  2. gryzowski

    Hi Chip, sorry to hear about the hand, the photos of your back yard always make me smile! What a wonderful place to live 🙂 Take care Anne x

    April 5, 2011 at 4:41 AM

  3. these are very dear photos … hkkkk ;D actually i liked them all!
    k☼

    April 5, 2011 at 7:49 AM

  4. Hope your hand gets better soon! Your photo’s are always totally amazing, thanks for sharing them 😀

    April 5, 2011 at 8:18 AM

  5. Hope the hand’s improved since when you posted this, still on catch-up here. Love your backyard, if only I had those views out my window!

    April 10, 2011 at 6:30 AM

Leave a Reply

