The view from my perch on the mountain

Not my usual

Folks, I need your help. Those of you who know me know that I’m an animal lover and the subject of this post just sickens me.

Most of you are probably unaware of the outrageous conduct of animal control officers at the Chesterfield, South Carolina Animal Shelter. At least 22 dogs from the shelter were taken to the Sheriff’s Department firing range, shot and hastily buried in a nearby landfill. There is also evidenced gathered by an undercover investigator of shelter animals being sold as fighting animals while other animals at the shelter, used as bait dogs, were mauled to death to impress prospective buyers of fighting dogs.

It has come to light that the shelter manager is a convicted felon who takes pride in telling prospective buyers that the fighting animals he sells trace their bloodlines to some of the dogs once owned by NFL player Michael Vick who did time in federal prison for dogfighting convictions.

The shelter falls under the purview of Chesterfield County Sheriff Sam Parker who initially tried to sweep the matter under the rug, blaming it on his predecessor.

My friend Jeanne Newton has established a blog Watch Dogging For Justice with background information as well as up to date information. Please take the time to stop by and, if you are as angry about this as Jeanne and I please make your voice heard via the email links to the State Police, State Solicitor and Governor.

This is not the only case of blatant mismanagement of animal shelters but this case is already in the public eye. If enough pressure is applied to bring about an official investigation and to see those responsible for these criminal acts brought to justice it may bring about change in other shelters.

Please help us speak out for those poor creatures who cannot speak for themselves.

Watch Dogging For Justice

13 responses

  1. This is disgusting chip! As you know, my dog Pipi went missing in late November. I reported it to Animal Welfare. I got a call last Thursday, and they had found her! A ranger was called out to investigate a property miles from where we lived, and the dog was malnourished, and underweight, flea invested, had a skin infection over most of her body and when we took her to the vet, she had very painful infections in both ears. The woman claimed the dog was hers, but when asked to provide proof, she couldn’t…then changed her mind and said she found her before Christmas. The dog was taken back to the pound and soon identified by her microchip and she was home within half an hour of arriving. In this instance, our animal welfare were so awesome!

    it is disgusting to hear that people in positions of power, who are meant to be protecting animals, are behaving so despicably and criminally. I’m not sure that an oversea’s email will work, but will write one if it helps. Let me know chip.

    love
    Jx

    March 21, 2011 at 7:31 PM

    • I’m sure that international e-mails would carry even more weight by demonstrating that this is no longer just a local matter that can be quickly swept under the rug. The more voices raised the better!

      March 21, 2011 at 7:40 PM

  2. OMG Speechless.. Alert the media..they might get on it fast.. this is just so
    ungodly horrible. Consider it done..I will read the blog and do what needs to be done!

    March 21, 2011 at 7:39 PM

  3. I don’t believe in animals “rights”, but I DO believe in HUMAN RESPONSIBILITY. Such people should be punished to the fullest extent of the law.

    March 21, 2011 at 7:57 PM

  4. Bless all of you who have commented so far. I’m going to keep my note here short because I’m networking every avenue I have to help get the word out, and to encourage outcries for justice to be added to the cries currently being heard, along with imploring the public to scrutinize this case as if was about their own pets (family member). I do have a WordPress blog in the works to, but there have been other priorities with this case, so it’s back burned for now. Thank for caring!!!

    Jeanne
    “Watchdogging for Justice”

    March 21, 2011 at 8:08 PM

  5. These low life SOB need shooting,
    Have add the page
    Sue

    March 21, 2011 at 9:22 PM

  6. UGH this infuriates me too Chip! We have a local shelter that’s been rumored to do the same thing to dogs that don’t get picked up quick. I say do unto others as you would have them do unto you. I think you can read between the lines on that one my friend. 😉

    March 21, 2011 at 10:24 PM

    • I could probably quote the message between the lines, verbatim, Kimmy.

      March 21, 2011 at 11:56 PM

  7. This will take the average person to do something about this. Not national groups that like donations, but the average person. I imagine if more people find out about this, they will protest. They will demand justice for those dogs. What happened is so unacceptable, it is beyond words how wrong that was, how cruel to do that to man’s best friend.

    I’m really glad where I live in Va, there is now a no-kill dog rescue, in contrast to the kill SPCA joke. The same for cats, and the same for horses.

    March 21, 2011 at 11:46 PM

    • Our local shelter is clean, well maintained and heated and there are several no kill rescue groups locally so, even though we are a small town in a corner of Virginia where prosperity always seems to be just around the bend I’m confident that nothing like this happens here.

      That said, just 75 miles up the road in Roanoke County: http://www2.wsls.com/news/2011/feb/24/10-your-side-investigation-uncovers-concerns-roano-ar-865976/

      March 21, 2011 at 11:55 PM

      • My friend Nancy told me about that Roanoke SPCA thing. That is just not right. Seems like a conflict of interest for that director. But more importantly, too many animals are being killed. Calling it a “shelter” is a joke!

        I think the Lynchburg SPCA is a no kill shelter now, they work so hard to get dogs and cats adopted out. I can’t think of any other ones near me that have gone that way.

        I don’t trust our SPCA. Just so glad, thankful and grateful for the new dog rescue we have up the valley from Roanoke. There is also a cat rescue, it was first on the scene. Just recently the dog rescue arrived. They have dog adoption days once a month at the pet store. There is at least one horse rescue, and individuals who do horse rescue – an entire network of them. I hate animal cruelty so much, esp. to companion animals, horses. I hate massive factory farms.

        March 22, 2011 at 3:24 AM

  8. thats horrid! i will send some emails tonight when i have more time to find email addresses and compose a forceful and effective letter. the more people speak up and declare they know about this and hotly disapprove, the quicker something useful will get done. i wont post what im really thinking …
    k☼

    March 22, 2011 at 7:46 AM

Leave a Reply

