The view from my perch on the mountain

The Moon Boss, The Moon!

I was all set to shoot the super moon last night, camera sensor and all lenses cleaned, tripod out of the truck and a close eye on the eastern horizon.

IMG_9570

However, Mother Nature decided to throw me a curve and provide some overcast for the big event.

IMG_9578

Using my longest lens I managed to capture a few frames but they’re nowhere near as good as I had hoped for.

IMG_9579

Oh well, we’ll have another super moon in 2029. I hope I still remember how to use the camera when I’m 74 years old.

10 responses

  1. Chip I feel your pain man! I think your images are outstanding though! The moon kept going in and out of the clouds here too.

    March 20, 2011 at 12:18 PM

  2. Sue A. Lehman

    So hard to get good pics here, what with all out clouds and storms going through this weekend. Hoping to at least get a peek at it tonight. Rain is expected through Tuesday, so I’m not holding my breath. Love the middle picture the best! Naaah, you won’t ever forget how to do the photo thing—muscle memory is a great thing!

    March 20, 2011 at 12:46 PM

  3. What pretty pictures!
    You may consider yourself a lucky man.
    Yesterday I got to see the moon so little…
    The sky began to darken, the clouds move, and soon it began to rain. 😦

    I loved coming here to see your photos and comments.
    All is well with you now?

    Good week, honey, and lots of kisses to you!

    March 20, 2011 at 2:34 PM

  4. i think you did a fine job! i had spooty clouds as well, but got some good shots about 4am. there was a little mist still over the sky, but i used the same settings as someone featured on the freshly pressed page, and it worked for me. i also had the camera set on auto without flash. clouds or no, i think your images are very nice.
    k☼

    March 20, 2011 at 3:46 PM

  5. The shots aren’t bad Chip, it’s not an easy subject, I wouldn’t even try, haven’t got the equipment anyhow. 🙂

    March 20, 2011 at 3:54 PM

  6. You sort of saw the moon, Chip. I flat out forgot! Spent Sat. planting some cabbage, wasn’t in any shape to think about the moon.

    March 20, 2011 at 8:32 PM

  7. Your pic’s are good Chip,night was clear here and hot,
    love the last pic
    Take care
    Sue

    March 21, 2011 at 9:47 AM

  8. Helloooooo Chip!!!
    I finally got here.. and not before bloomin time! I’m finding it all a bit complicated, but i’m gonna have to try ‘walking’ before I can run!
    Your pictures of the full moon are really lovely. Be proud of those. We had total cloud cover here, and I didn’t get to see any full moon, the whole evening! 😦
    I hope your back is recovering, and that you are not in too much pain-take care!
    mags x

    March 21, 2011 at 2:37 PM

  9. We had beautiful crisp clear skies here and a fantastic view of the Moon! Awesome! Even my friend who doesn’t normally take any interest in such things was blown away! Personally it was more the amount of detail you could see with the naked eye compared to normal when it’s not so close to Earth that stood out to me, rather than any excessive size. But it was very beautiful 🙂

    March 21, 2011 at 3:57 PM

  10. These are beautiful …. and such atmosphere …. fantastic … and since I had thick clouds, I’m so glad to see them …

    March 28, 2011 at 9:02 AM

Leave a Reply

