The view from my perch on the mountain

Contrary to popular belief……

…………….I did not fall off the edge of the world. My canine pal, Buddy, damaged the front porch while chasing a cat and, among other things, I used to bang nails for a living so…….

IMG_9498

For those who don’t already know, I wrecked my back in a fall at home in 2005, fracturing several vertebrae and damaging my spinal cord. When surgery to repair the fractures in my lumbar spine failed to correct the problem I was forced to retire on disability.

IMG_9515

I’m what my father would call “bull headed”, a trait shared by all my siblings and just about all of our relatives on Pop’s side of the family. Being bull headed and refusing to let my physical problems, or common sense for that matter, dictate what I can and can’t do I sometimes push the envelope a little too far and end up paying the price.

IMG_9519

The week before last I really pushed it. This past week I paid for it. I’m also a chronic pain patient and have an impressive collection of narcotic pain killers in various dosages, some of which could probably knock out an elephant.

IMG_9542

I only take my meds when I absolutely have to. This past week, after deciding to not just repair the porch but to re-design and re-build it without bothering to ask for help I have been taking full doses of all of my meds. I have also spent most of my “waking hours” stoned out of my gourd, staring at the idiot box and trying not to drool on my chest. To give you an idea of just how loopy, every thing Charlie Sheen has been saying makes perfect sense to me!

This is why I haven’t been blogging or even playing around on Face Book. It’s not that I haven’t tried, it’s just that the Gibberish to English translator on my laptop has apparently malfunctioned and I’ll have to do a lot of password resetting…….

IMG_9546

…….as soon as the drugs wear off………again!

You see, I was feeling pretty good this morning and the weather was nothing short of glorious; sunny, pleasant little breeze and 72°F ( about 22°C for those of a metric persuasion) so I decided to tackle a few little jobs I’ve been meaning to get to.

The first order of business was to change out those lamps in Godzilla’s headlights for the high powered ones I bought at Auto Zone. I put a set in Laura’s Jeep a couple of years back and people were flashing their high beams at us in an attempt to tell us we had our brights on. Flashing her high beams in response left several people suffering temporary blindness as well as flash burns.

Godzilla sits a lot higher off the ground than the Jeep and I can’t wait to show that jerk across the street my high powered headlights! I wonder if his vinyl siding will melt if I aim them at his house and leave them on all night.

Next I decided to do a little more on the porch, nothing too strenuous mind you, so I broke out the implements of construction, buckled on my carpenter’s belt and proceeded to measure, cut, curse, nail, curse some more when I hit the wrong nail (usually thumb nail), drop stuff where I couldn’t reach, curse ………. and wreck my back again.

At least I still have plenty of meds!

As you can see, I also managed to get a few shots of the sunset this evening. I wanted to be sure the camera was ready for the super moon tomorrow night, the largest it has appeared in the sky in 18 years.

I also discovered the camera needs a good cleaning, especially the sensor, but I’m not going to try that until the meds wear off.

See? I do have a little common sense, especially when it comes to playing with delicate electronics while stoked to the gills on pain killers, muscle relaxers, sleep aids, nerve pain meds.

Besides, I can’t do any fine work with my hands until the bandages come off. Did I mention that Frankie spent a good half hour doctoring all the cuts, scrapes and splinters I picked up today. I won’t repeat any of the “special” words she used when voicing her opinion of “a man my age” doing the bull headed things I do. Your monitor would probably catch fire if I did.

Oh look………the meds must be kicking in…….the cartoons in my head have started and it’s a Road Runner marathon! WOO-HOO!

P.S. If you are having trouble following all this you may want to stop by www.tigerbloodAdonisgenes.com and have Charlie Sheen explain today’s post. I’m sure he knows where I’m coming from.

10 responses

  1. I’ve known my share of back trouble, though not as bad as yours. Hope you get back to normal soon.

    March 18, 2011 at 9:01 PM

  2. Chip, I kind of know the feeling of not blogging every day or sometimes weeks in my case. Even at WLS I would often be off for a bit and not post daily or on a regular basis. Though opiate friendly I also choose not to use the pain killers unless things get extreme and then just relax and enjoy the morphine dreams. Kind of sort of getting a grip on the Worpress ways and keep the Blogspot as active as WP. The images in your post of the sun through the trees are very nice. As Charlie would say, ” winner “! As ever be well

    March 18, 2011 at 9:09 PM

  3. I am really sorry, Chip that this is happening to you. I come from a long line of pigheaded Type A people, so I think I know what you mean.

    I’m ultra sensitive to drugs, but I remember once when my BC was still a pup, she took a notion to leap up in my lap, then jumped back down. That action alone put my back and neck into spaz. I hurt bad enough to risk taking Ultram. I can only stand one pill. If I take the second pill the itching starts. So I gotta be desperate to take it. I have to have the worst migraine, or the worst back pain. So brother, I know where you’re coming from!

    I hope you can find some relief. I ask people to help me do those tasks I used to be able to do.

    March 18, 2011 at 9:12 PM

  4. So glad, you got your shape back – and Frankie.

    March 19, 2011 at 4:11 AM

  5. penelopephoebe

    Good to see you are back out with the camera (No pun intended). I hope your pain continues to decrease and you can start living a reasonable quality of life again. I cannot imagine how hard it must be to endure chronic pain. My thoughts are with you, Chip. Take care. Pen.

    March 19, 2011 at 4:33 AM

  6. Morning Chip
    Oh I bet Frankie use special words when she patching you up, men some time you just sooooo pig-head, when it comes to asking for Help! hope your feeling some what better in the morning and look after your back till you feel well again
    Your pic’s are so nice, it good to see the camera in your hand again,
    Take care , look after your self
    Sue

    March 19, 2011 at 10:33 AM

  7. Glad to see you back in action |Chip, I was beginning to wonder where you been.
    Nice shots of the sun.
    Just take it steady in future though eh?

    March 19, 2011 at 5:23 PM

  8. ahhh i understand bull headed. the beau is like that. i have to corral him sometimes. nice shots of the sun … i like the ring around it in the third shot.
    lets see who shoots the best moon?
    k☼

    March 19, 2011 at 6:58 PM

  9. Soooo….you have been giving Frankie cause to use those special words again have you? lol naughty naughty RM you really should know better by now! And you blame Buddy!!! I suspect that translates as Buddy was keeping a very close eye on you to avoid such incidents occurring and you gave him the slip and thought you were SuperRM!!! It’s good to see you back but please be more careful in future!!! 🙂

    March 20, 2011 at 10:46 AM

  10. Well Chip, I’m glad to see you’re OK… I was beginning to wonder. It looks like Frankie has her hands full with you LOL…give her my best wishes (she’ll need it LOL) But truly, my friend, try to take it easy, Lenore.

    March 21, 2011 at 4:15 PM

Leave a Reply

