The view from my perch on the mountain

White Breasted Nuthatch

The White Breasted Nuthatch. I haven’t seen these little guys around the feeders until the past couple of days. Now they’ve started showing up in pairs. They’re very skittish and wouldn’t allow me to get too close so these were shot with a Canon EOS 55-250MM image stabilized zoom lens from about 20 yards distance.

IMG_9351

 

IMG_9407

 

IMG_9463

 

IMG_9466

I should mention that just as I stepped out the door a flash of color caught my eye and I managed to get a few frames of a Red Bellied Woodpecker perched on a branch near the feeders. Those shots are posted on my Blogger page Virginia Through My Lens.

7 responses

  1. Great shots – especially the last two. Birds are some of my favorite photo subjects.

    March 7, 2011 at 1:29 PM

  2. what a funnly little face!

    March 7, 2011 at 2:03 PM

  3. Love the Nuthatch. I like how they can walk up and down a tree. I used to watch them when I hunted deer in the fall. They are excellent as are other birds about announcing game.

    March 7, 2011 at 3:58 PM

  4. As always totally amazing photos! Awesome! 😉

    March 7, 2011 at 7:30 PM

  5. When I used to feed the birds, the Nuthatches were one of my favorites.

    March 7, 2011 at 7:57 PM

  6. what a beautiful little bird,
    Hope your are feeling much better
    take care
    Sue

    March 8, 2011 at 6:57 AM

  7. Wonderful captures!

    March 8, 2011 at 4:13 PM

Leave a Reply

