The view from my perch on the mountain

I’ve Seen Better Days

As is the case with so many older buildings in the vicinity this one has been left abandoned and deteriorating but this one may be getting a reprieve.

IMG_9264

Today I drove by on my meandering path to pick THE BOSS up from work and I noticed that all the overgrown shrubbery as well as a several “trash trees” (really nothing more than overgrown weeds) had been cut down.

IMG_9270

Most of the old siding has been stripped away to expose the original clapboards and there are other signs of recent work performed. If the building was to be demolished it would be a pile of rubble by now.

I really like to see these old buildings brought back to life. The tales those old walls could tell……

9 responses

  1. How are you feeling?

    I sure hope this old timey house will be restored fully. I’m sure it would have a lot of stories to tell us.

    March 6, 2011 at 3:51 PM

    • Much better, thanks, but still not entirely up to speed. That’s partially due to the cold, damp weather and getting over the effects of the drugs takes a few days, as well. I normally don’t take the heavy duty ones unless I absolutely have to for precisely that reason.

      March 6, 2011 at 4:38 PM

  2. Fizz

    Oh… be sure to take photos of the progress!!

    March 6, 2011 at 4:36 PM

  3. Okey dokey!

    March 6, 2011 at 4:38 PM

  4. I’m always happy to see an old building of almost any kind returned to its former “glory.”

    March 6, 2011 at 5:52 PM

  5. ooo i like old delapitated buildings …
    k☼

    March 6, 2011 at 7:20 PM

  6. I hope she come back to life Chip and that her yard once again is full of the sound of children playing and family life
    Good to see your feel better
    Take care
    Sue

    March 7, 2011 at 12:10 AM

  7. I would love to know what tales they had to tell…that would be something else! Fantastic thought 🙂

    March 7, 2011 at 7:32 PM

  8. Wonderful blog chip.

    March 8, 2011 at 1:41 AM

Leave a Reply

