The view from my perch on the mountain

On the Mend

Well, it looks as if I’ll survive, despite my best efforts to do myself permanent injury……….or any more than I already have. I’d like to thank everyone for their prayers, advice and good thoughts. Please rest assured that my doctor and two of his nurses gave me a thorough a** chewing for being too stubborn to slow down and take it easy when my physical problems get in the way of something I want to do.

The back and legs are on the mend but I’m far from 100% so I’m still taking it easy and staying close to home. Just in case I do injure myself again I am well prepared. My doctor had Santa Claus stop by in his big brown truck this afternoon with another 90 day supply of WOO-WOO pills. I still had about half of the last 90 supply left so I now have enough prescription narcotics on hand to get the entire county as screwed up as a soup sammich……..if I was so inclined.

As you can see, I finally pulled the camera out of the bag again.

IMG_9054

This is what the eastern sky looks like when I’m trying to sleep in and THE BOSS remembers something I did back in 1994 and decides to cut me a little pay back by sending Buddy in to wash the entire left side of my head with a big ol’ slobbery “kiss’”. I was not amused but I was awake……instantaneously!

IMG_9063

I took this shot so that I’ll be able to remember what the sky looks like without clouds. There is a weather system moving in as I type and the TV weather guessers are saying the drought we’ve been under recently will soon be a dim memory, not to be confused with my memory which is always dim. They are also advising people to begin building a large boat and start rounding up two of every animal.

IMG_9115

This Tufted Titmouse was having a fine time watching the four legged clown roll around in his yard.

IMG_9083

Ahhhhhhhhh…..that sure feels good!

IMG_9082

In the past some readers have commented on the harness Buddy wears. That’s more for my benefit than anything else. As a result of my injuries I am sometimes less than sure footed and occasionally need to use a cane. As a matter of fact I have earned a doctorate in falling on my butt from the School of hard knocks! The old black hats at Jump School in Ft. Benning (those sadistic ogres who made me jump out of perfectly good airplanes) would be very proud if they saw me fall because I always execute a perfect parachute landing fall with the camera tucked into my stomach and wrapped in my arms. Broken bones and bruises heal. Camera lenses don’t!

While Buddy is usually well behaved on a lead he is still a pup……an 80 lb. pup……and he’s strong as an ox! When something grabs his interest he has a tendency to forget I’m on the other end of the lead and take off after it.The harness allows me to maintain control without strangling him and/or getting jerked off my feet and dragged to my death. I’ve learned, the hard way, that a collar does not provide that kind of control.

IMG_9167

This female Downy Woodpecker must have decided I posed no threat because she was so close to me when she let out her cry that she startled me! When I recovered I captured this image from less that 10 feet away.

IMG_9257

My brother in law, Fish Hook, and I are trying to raise enough money for a new squirrel gun. Personally I don’t really have any problem with squirrels. My plan is to park it in the front yard, pack that rascal with a homemade 155MM blank cartridge, point it at the front door of the miserable bast***d across the street and give that dirty, rotten, low down, poster child for retroactive birth control a massive and hopefully fatal heart attack when the muzzle flash sets his hair on fire from 100 feet away the first time he sticks his head out the door! I’m still convinced he had a hand in poisoning Sam but I can’t prove it and that’s why the jerk hasn’t had a hunting accident……yet.

Anyone interested in making a donation should send it to:

Roket Man and Fish Hook Need One of Them Big Ol’ Guns Fund

c/o The Keeper of the Flame

Big Ethel’s Exotic Dance Emporium, Tattoo Parlor & Bait Shop

Beautiful Wythe Vegas, Virginia 24382

Donate $50 and we’ll send you an autographed set of 8X10 color glossy photos of the festivities……as long as you agree not to turn ‘em over to the police should they contact you concerning evidence of the aforementioned event. If asked, me and Fish Hook plan on using a temporary insanity defense based on years of mental abuse by our spouses (they’re not only mean, they’re also sisters!) too many Road Runner cartoons in our youth, processed sugar in our breakfast cereal, repeated abductions by space aliens and maybe even global warming.

One response

  1. Morning Chip
    it good to see you up and about again even if your not moving far from home, the pic’s are great , love the look on Buddy face,
    as for the SOB across the road,donate on the way, world dont need people like him in it,
    Take care
    Sue

    March 4, 2011 at 10:08 PM

Leave a Reply

