The view from my perch on the mountain

Touching base

This will be a short post but I wanted to let y’all know that I’m not ignoring my online family. For those who are unaware, I’m a chronic pain patient. While I refuse to allow my medical problems to rule my life there are times when I have no choice but to take a break. When the pain in my back and legs gets to be too much I have to resort to taking the narcotic pain killers my doctor has prescribed.

Recently I’ve pushed my beat up old body farther than I should have and I’m now paying for what my dad used to call being bull headed. In fact, I’ve pushed myself to the point that the narcotics just haven’t done the job. I saw my doctor Tuesday and he has increased the dosage on my pain killers. He warned that it would take a few days for my body to adjust and he wasn’t exaggerating!

While the increased dosage is doing the job, it’s also left me feeling like a zombie. Because of this I haven’t been online much or had my camera out of the bag lately. In fact, I’ve been writing this post for 3 days.

I promise I’ll catch up once I’m back to what passes for normal in my world. In the meantime I’ll be busy catching up on my sleep deficit.

8 responses

  1. penelopephoebe

    You have my full sympathy, Chip. Chronic pain is very debilitating. I hope things improve for you soon. In the meantime, rest and heal.

    March 3, 2011 at 12:14 PM

  2. 3 days …now, that’s something to scale with 😦 get better soon!

    March 3, 2011 at 1:31 PM

  3. arlene

    Oh dear Chip I am sorry to hear that you’re in the grip of the dreaded pain devil. Don’t be stubborn, or not too stubborn, take your meds as you’ve been advised. There’s no medals for bravery in the sick world .
    I really hope it lets go soon, and you’re feeling more up to your old self.

    March 3, 2011 at 3:02 PM

  4. Gorges Smythe

    I’ll say a few prayers for you.

    March 3, 2011 at 5:46 PM

  5. Hope you’re feeling better soon!

    March 3, 2011 at 7:50 PM

  6. I’m sorry to hear about your battle with chronic pain. I have myofascial pain syndrome and Fibromyalgia caused by a tick bite. A member of my Lyme and Fibromyalgia support group thinks she can be weaned off her pain meds. She has been seeing a Lynchburg Va. acupuncturist for a while. In the course of treatment, she discovered acupuncture cupping. She has purchased a kit so she can do her own cupping. She gets volunteers to help her apply the cups to her back. But she reports a huge decrease in her pain levels (Fibromyalgia and Lyme caused). This same member has a therapy pool that she keeps heated at 92 degrees. Between soaking in it, and the cupping she reports a huge decrease in her pain levels, and says she sleeps soundly. I got her to be the January 2011 speaker, to tell us about cupping.

    My brother has Fibromyalgia and chronic back pain from an accident. He has had great success by taking Lyrica that has enabled him to function a lot better at his job. I have been too drug sensitive to take it.

    I have to take breaks all the time after I have over done it. Pigheadedness runs in my family.

    March 4, 2011 at 12:47 AM

  7. take care of yourself Chip, see you when you’re feeling better x

    March 4, 2011 at 3:51 AM

  8. OOoops 😉 Should have read this post before the other one. Sorry to hear you’re/you’ve been in the pain wars again…listen to Arlene! That’s good advice she’s giving you up there on your page 🙂 Try to be good and take it easy or do we have to get Buddy to sit on you and pin you down? Painless Wolfie hug! 😉

    March 5, 2011 at 10:16 AM

Leave a Reply

